Tusker’s Were dropped as Kenya name final 20 for Cecafa

Also axed is reigning KPL midfielder of the year Brian Osumba, AFC left back Abdallah Juma, Thika United's Sammy Mejja and Jesse Were (Tusker)

Canadian-based midfielder Kihara Waiganjo’s dream of playing for national team Harambee Stars have been shattered after he was dropped from the final squad for Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup that kick-off on Wednesday in Nairobi.

Coach Adel Amrouche named his final squad of 20 players on Tuesday and Waiganjo, who turns out for Kingston FC in the Jamaican league, will now have to wait a little bit longer for his dream to be accomplished.

Also dropped from the list is reigning KPL midfielder of the year Brian Osumba, who was a late call up, AFC Leopards’ left back Abdallah Juma, Thika United’s Sammy Mejja, Tusker FC hitman Jesse Were and Wilson Obungu, who was injured.

Kenya opens its account in the tournament against the Walya Antelopes of Ethiopia and coach Amrouche will be a man under pressure to register a win in front of home fans and start the tournament on a positive note.

Kenya final Cecafa Squad; GOALKEEPERS: Wycliffe Kasaya (Sony Sugars), Duncun Ochieng' (Sofapaka), Jerim Onyango (Gor Mahia).

DEFENDERS: Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), Jockins Atudo (Azam FC), Mulinge Ndetto (Ulinzi Stars), David Owino (Gor Mahia), Aboud Omar (Tusker FC), James Situma (Sofapaka).

MIDFIELDERS: David King’atua, Francis Kahata, Clifton Miheso (Thika United), Peter Opiyo (AFC Leopards', David Gateri (South Africa), Anthony Akumu (Gor Mahia).

FORWARDS: Allan Wanga, Noah Wafula (AFC Leopards), Mungai Kiongera, Edwin Lavasta (Gor Mahia), Jacob Keli (KCB).