Simba SC 3-0 JKT Tanzania: Champions roar past visitors in league assignment
Simba SC vs JKT Tanzania.
Simba SC.
Wekundu wa Msimbazi recorded their 14th win this season to pile pressure on their rivals who have played two games more

Simba SC defeated JKT Tanzania 3-0 in a Tanzania Mainland League assignment at the Benjamin Mkapa Stadium on Monday.

Chris Mugalu, Luis Miquissone, and John Bocco were on target for the hosts.

The reigning champions came into the match full of confidence after wins against Al Ahly and African Lyon, in the Caf Champions League and FA Cup, respectively.

It took Wekundu wa Msimbazi just nine minutes to get their first goal. Congolese Mugalu, who was preferred ahead of John Bocco and was making a return to the team after being out for close to two months owing to an injury, was at the end of a good move by the team.

With 20 minutes gone, goalkeeper Aishi Manula collided with an opponent and had to be rushed to hospital after a long time receiving first aid on the pitch. Beno Kakulanya took his place in goal.

The hosts had to wait until the 37th minute to double their advantage courtesy of Mozambican Miquissone. Since his arrival in the team midway through last season, the forward has been directly involved in 24 goals.

His goal took his tally for the club to 11, as well as 13 assists which makes him one of the key players at the club.

Despite the many chances created, the champions did not score another goal in the first half.

It seemed the Msimbazi-based charges will not add another goal, but it changed with just minutes to go as substitute Bocco ended his 51-day absence with a goal in the third minute of injury time.

The result ensured the 21-time champions are just four points behind rivals Yanga SC -  who lead the race with 49 points from 21 matches - and with two games in hand.

The latter have managed to get 14 wins, three draws and two losses, scoring 45 goals in the process and conceding just eight.

On their part, JKT are placed 11th on the table with 24 points.

Simba SC XI: Aishi Manula, Shomari Kapombe, Mohamed Hussein, Erasto Nyoni, Pascal Wawa, Kennedy Juma, Clatous Chama, Tadeo Lwanga, Mutshimba Kope, Mzamiru Yassin, Luis Miquissone

Article continues below

Subs: Beno Kakolanya, David Kameta, Ibrahim Migomba, Meddie Kagere, Perfect Chikwende, Rally Bwalya, John Bocco

JKT Tanzania XI: Patrick Muntary, Saady Abubakary, Paulo Ngalema, Edson Katanga, Hamad Wazir, Nurdin Mohamed, Kelvin Nashon, Hafidh Mussa, Daniel Lyanga, Edward Songo, Mgandila Shaban

Subs: Khomeini Abubakar, Hassan Twalib, Richard Maranya, Jabir Stima, Kigi Makasi, Rashid Mandawa, Mussa Said