News Live Scores

Leopards v Nzoia Sugar Match Report, 01/04/2017

2 - 1
Kenyatta Stadium
AFC Leopards 2-1 Nzoia: Ingwe prevail in 'Western derby'
18:22 EAT 01/04/2017
AFC Leopards v Nzoia Sugar
Ingwe maintained their fine start to 2017 season after they beat newbies Nzoia Sugar in a derby played on Saturday

AFC Leopards maintained their fine start to 2017 season after they beat Nzoia Sugar 2-1 on Saturday.

It was a derby that Ingwe fans wanted their team to win, but they had a rude shock when they fell behind in the 6th minute. The visitors had dominated, creating chance after chance, but this time round, Rupia Elvis was in the right place and at the right time to hand the newcomers a deserved lead.

That was a wakeup call for the hosts, who dominated well, with Duncan Otieno trying to feed the strikers with good balls, but the opponents' defense rose to the occasion, putting off every attempt.

After the break, coach Stewart Hall introduced Ugandan creative midfielder Allan Kateregga in a bid to create more chances and get that important equalizer. The introduction of the creative midfielder worked as Nzoia Sugar was pushed to their own half.

In the 49th minute, the pressure finally worked as Ghanaian import Gilberto Faimenyo made things even with a well taken goal. The goal brought life to the otherwise dull fans, and they cheered the home side on. Captain Bernard Mang'oli could have handed Ingwe a second goal in the 62nd minute but he failed to hit the ball past the custodian.

However, it did not matter as in the 68th minute, Kateregga made it right after converting a well taken corner to seal maximum points. AFC Leopards have six points from two matches, with Nzoia suffering first defeat this season.

AFC Leopards: Ian Otieno, Robinson Kamura, Salim Abdalla, Joshua Mawira, Duncan Otieno, Mang'oli Bernard, Dennis Shikhayi, Marcus Abwao, Whyvone Isuzza, Paul Kiongera and Fiamenyo Gilbert.

Subs: Andika Gabriel, Ramadhan Yakubu, Mao Ellias, Ingotsi Marcellus, Nyakha Haroun, Allan Kateregga and Andrew Tololwa.

Nzoia Sugar: Benson Mangala, Edwin Wafula, Hillary Wandera, Brian Otieno, Vincent Ngesa, Peter Gin, Bonface Omondi, Lawrence Juma, Masita Masuta, Elvis Rupia and Victor Omondi.

Subs: Mustapha Oduor, Festus Okiring, Joachim Oluoch, Jonathan Lodaket, Patrick Kwitonda, Michael Osundwa and Benjamin Muchuma.