Kagera Sugar v Simba Match Report, 21/04/2021

0 - 2
Kaitaba Stadium
Kagera Sugar 0-2 Simba SC: Da Rosa's side wins to pile pressure on Yanga SC
18:20 EAT 21/04/2021
Simba SC striker Chris Mugalu and Luis Miquissone and Kagera Sugar.
Wekundu wa Msimbazi are still playing their catch-up games as the second round of the league gathers speed

Simba SC fought to earn a 2-0 Tanzania Mainland Premier League win over Kagera Sugar on Wednesday at Kaitaba Stadium.

The win – courtesy of goals from Luis Miquissone and Chris Mugalu – is set to pile more pressure on Yanga SC who are at the top and have played more games.

Miquissone scored Simba's opener in the 13th minute as Kagera Sugar took time to figure out how to stop the determined champions. 

Mugalu added the second one in the 24th minute as the Sugar Millers looked disjointed especially at the back, giving Simba room to attack from wide areas and attempt long-range shots.

The DR Congo star has been the preferred striker for Simba in the recent past as John Bocco – who scored the only goal against Mwadui FC in the previous game – as well as Meddie Kagere have been relegated to the bench.

Kagere is, however, leading the scorers’ charts as he has found the back of the net 11 times so far despite injury concerns and stiff competition for the starting berths.

Simba moved to second place as they engage in catch-up games. Wekundu wa Msimbazi still enjoy three games in hand and sit two points below Yanga SC at the top.

Even after the appointment of coach John Baraza, Kagera Sugar have failed to stabilise as they are without a win in the last five games. They have lost two and have drawn in the last three games. 

With 24 points from 27 games, it means they are not yet safe from relegation and would need to get their house in order, pick points and move away from Mbeya City, Ihefu FC and Mwadui who are deep in the red zone.

Simba SC XI: Aishi Manula,Shomari Kapombe, Mohamed Hussein, Pascal Wawa, Joash Onyango, Hassan Dilunga,  Taddeo Lwanga, Mzamiru Yassin, Clatous Chama, Luis Miquissone, Chris Mugalu,

Subs: Beno Kakolanya, Ibrahim Ajibu, Mohamed Ame, Meddie Kagere, John Bocco, Erasto Nyoni, Larry Bwalya.

Kagera Sugar XI: Ramadhan Chalamanda, Mwaita Gereza, David Luhende, Abdallah Mfuko, Ally Mtoni, Nassoro Kapama, Yussuf Mhilu, Ally Nassoro, Peter Mwalyanzi, Abdul Kassim, Erick Mwijage, 

Subs: Benedict Tinoco, Yusuph Mlipili, Sadat Nanguo, Jackson Harodi, Hassan Mwaterema, Abdallah Seseme.