Indian Super League: Chennaiyin FC win the title

After narrowly missing out on a place in the final last season, Marco Materazzi lead Chennaiyin FC to the Indian Super League (ISL) title in season two.

Chennaiyin FC won the Indian Super League (ISL) title in the second edition of the competition after a dramatic 3-2 win over FC Goa at the Fatorda Stadium on Sunday.

Stiven Mendoza won a penalty which Bruno Pelissari stepped up to take in the 54th minute but having seen his effort saved by Laxmikant Kattimani, he slotted away the rebound.

Thongkhosiem Haokip then equalised four minutes later while Jofre Mateu's 87th minute free-kick seemed to have sealed the win.

However, Kattimani clattered into his own defender to collect a ball in the 90th minute, only to help it into his own net in the process. Mendoza then slotted away the winner in the second minute of stoppage time.   

Having retained their coach in Marco Materazzi, the Italian guided Chennaiyin FC to ISL glory in the second season of the competition despite enduring a difficult start.

A fine run of form however saw them win all of their final four league games as they finished third in the table and secured a semi-final berth. 

An aggregate win of 4-2 over defending champions Atletico de Kolkata saw them grace the finals. 

Having stumbled at the semi-finals stage against Kerala Blasters FC in the inaugural edition of the ISL, their triumph this time around put a few things right. Stiven Mendoza finished as the tournament's top scorer with 13 strikes to his name.