ISL clubs retain 41 players and exercise option to sign 23 players from open market

Mumbai City FC retained the minimum number of players as clubs, under orders, specified their personnel for the second edition of the ISL...

A many as 41 Indian players have been retained by all eight franchises combined, participating in the second edition of the Indian Super League’s (ISL). Meanwhile, 23 players have been roped in from the open market to clubs, from amongst those who had participated in the ISL, but hadn’t been retained by their parent clubs.

The clubs submitted their list of Indian players ahead of the upcoming season, by the stipulated deadline of Friday, 15th May. Football Sports Development Limited, a body formed out of the joint venture of IMG-Reliance and Star India, had earlier during its Governing Council meeting in March, stipulated that a minimum of one and maximum of 6 players can be retained.

The likes of Chennaiyin FC, Pune FC and Kerala Blasters FC and FC Goa have exercised their maximum retention clause whilst Delhi Dynamos and NorthEast United have retained five each. The ISL’s inaugural winners Atletico de Kolkata have retained four players, whilst Mumbai City FC have the highest attrition rate amongst its Indian players and have retained just three.

It must be remembered here that every franchise has the ability to compose a squad of 22 players, 13 of whom must be Indian and 9 internationals, including one marquee signing. Franchises have the option of signing three more players from the open market, two of which can be internationals.

Those players who remain unsigned after the deadline will be drafted into the official ISL auction in the month of July. This auction will also include the players who missed out, due to various reasons, on the inaugural season of the tourney. 


Atletico de Kolkata

Players Retained : Arnab Kumar Mondal; Baljit Sahni; Denzil Franco; Nallapan Mohanraj.

Signings from open market: Nadong Bhutia; Jewel Raja; Sushil Kumar Singh; Syed Rahim Nabi; Clifford Miranda.


Chennaiyin FC

Players Retained : Jayesh Rane; Abhishek Das; Harmanjot Singh Khabra; Jeje Lalpekhula; Dhanachandra Singh; Balwant Singh.

Signings from open market: Godwin Franco; Mehrajuddin Wadoo


Delhi Dynamos FC

Players Retained : Francis Fernandes; Anwar Ali; Syhlo Malsawmtluanga; Robert Lathlamuana; Souvik Chakraborty.

Signings from open market: Subhashish Roy Chowdhury; Seiminlen Doungel.


FC Goa

Players Retained : Romeo Fernandes; Mandar Rao Desai; Laxmikant Kattimani; Narayan Das; Debadrata Roy; Bikramjit Singh

Signings from open market: Pronay Halder; CS Sabeeth; Denson Devadas; Joaquim Abranches; Raju Gaikwad.


FC Pune City

Players Retained : Lenny Rodrigues; Arindham Bhattacharya; Ravanan Dharmaraj; Israil Gurung; Pritam Kotal; Manish Maithani.

Signings from open market: Gouramangi Singh.


Kerala Blasters FC

Players Retained : Sandesh Jhingan; Ishfaq Ahmed; Mehatab Hossain; Gurwinder Singh; Saumik Dey; Sandip Nandy.

Signings from open market: Mohammed Rafi; Nirmal Chettri; Ramandeep Singh.


Mumbai City FC

Players Retained : Subrata Paul; Subhash Singam Singh; Lalrindika Ralte.

Signings from open market: Gabriel Fernandes; Kingshuk Debnath; Rowlinson Rodrigues.


NorthEast United FC

Players Retained : Rehnesh TP; Aiborlang Khongjee; Robin Gurung; Boithang Haokip; Alen Deory.

Signings from open market: Sanju Pradhan; Holicharn Narzary.