Uefa releases withheld prize money to 16 clubs

Only seven of the teams which were punished for breaching of the FFP rules are still to receive their due compensation for participating in continental competitions
The Uefa Club Financial Control Body (CFCB) investigatory chamber has announced that 16 of the 23 teams which were found guilty of deviating from the Financial Fair Play (FFP) rules have received their owed funds.

A month ago a number of clubs, including Atletico Madrid an Malaga, saw their prize money for participating in European competitions withheld.

The funds, however, have now been released as the clubs had managed to settle their debts before the end of September.

"The investigatory chamber had temporarily suspended the distribution of prize money as a conservatory measure," read a statement on Uefa's official website.

"However, based on new information provided by the clubs to meet the subsequent deadline of 30 September 2012 and following its investigations, the CFCB decided, given that no overdue payables balances remained, to close the cases involving the 16 clubs.

"As a result, conservatory measures affecting the following teams have been lifted with immediate effect:

FK Zeljeznicar, FK Sarajevo, FK Borac Banja Luka, CSKA Sofia, Atletico Madrid, Maccabi Netanya, FK Shkendija 79, Floriana FC, FK Buducnost Podgorica, FK Rudar Pjevlja, Ruch Chorzow, Sporting Lisbon, Vaslui, FC Rubin Kazan, Fenerbahce and Eskisehirspor."

The teams that still have not received their payments, and now will be referred to the adjudicatory chamber, are: Hajduk Split, Osijek, Malaga, Rapid Bucharest, Dinamo Bucharest, Partizan, and Vojvodina.