AFC Challenge Cup 2012: India coach Savio Medeira announces 23-member squad

The final 23 members will represent Team India in the competition which allows the winners to book a berth in the 2015 Asian Cup to be held in Australia...
Savio Medeira, the Indian national team coach, has named his 23-member squad for the Challenge Cup 2012 which will be held in Nepal next week.

Clifford Miranda, Arnab Mondal and Baldeep Singh have all missed out due to injuries while Lester Fernandez, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Manandeep Singh and Manish Maithani also failed to make the final cut.

India are scheduled to play their first match against Tajikistan on March 9 after the Challenge Cup kicks-off in Kathmandu on 8 March 2012.

As part of their preparations towards the tournament, India played three friendlies losing 5-1 to Oman in Muscat, following that up with a 3-0 loss against Azerbaijan in Dubai before finally beating an amateur Dubai based Iranian club 3-1 in the last match.

The following is the list of 23 members, who will represent Team India in Group B of the Challenge Cup. The squad will leave for Kathmandu on Sunday afternoon:

Goalkeepers: Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar); Subhasish Roy Chowdhury (Dempo SC); Arindam Bhattacharya (Churchill Brothers).

Defenders: Nirmal Chhetri, Raju Gaikwad (both East Bengal); Samir Naik (Dempo SC); Gouramangi Moirangthem (Churchill Brothers); Anwar Ali, Kingsukh Debnath, Syed Rahim Nabi (all Mohun Bagan); Gurjinder Singh (Pune FC).

Midfielders: Adil Khan (Sporting Clube de Goa); Anthony Pereira (Dempo SC); Reisangmi Vashum (East Bengal); Rocus Lamare, Francis Fernandes (both Salgaocar SC); Jewel Raja (Mohun Bagan); Lenny Rodrigues, Lalrindika Ralte (both Churchill Brothers).

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri (Mohun Bagan); Sushil Singh (Shillong Lajong FC – on loan), CS Sabeeth (Pailan Arrows); Joaquim Abranches (Dempo SC).

How do you stay up to date with football when on the move? With – your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.