AIFF Youth Cup: Nicolai Adam's India U-16 team announced

The Indian Colts who are preparing for the FIFA U-17 World Cup will be facing teams from various continents in the Youth Cup in Goa from May 15.

India U-17 coach Nicolai Adam's ultimate aim will be to get his boys ready for the FIFA U-17 World Cup that will be hosted in India next year. In preparation for the same, the now U-16 team will take part in a Youth Cup organised by the All India Football Federation (AIFF).

“The purpose of the AIFF Youth Cup is to get a sense of how the U-17 World Cup team is shaping up. The AIFF has facilitated a number of exposure tours for them in the past few months and we will continue to do so,” AIFF General Secretary Kushal Das gave his views on the Youth Cup.

“The tournament will provide us further clarity of what we need to improve further,” he added.

The young Indian side will face the U-16 teams of the United States of America (USA), Tanzania, Malaysia and South Korea in the competition, from May 15 to 25 at the Tilak Maidan stadium in Vasco-Goa, that will act as a rehearsal for the Asian Football Confederation's (AFC) U-16 tournament.

Despite being the host nation, India had already qualified on merit for the AFC U-16 Finals that are also to be staged in Goa from 15 September to 2 October this year, the draw for the same to be held in Goa on 26 May.

The Indian contingent will move out on a tour to Germany, Norway and Brazil after the Youth Cup as coach Adam clarified, “The target is to make it to the semi-finals of the U-16 Finals so that we qualify for the 2017 U-17 World Cup on merit.”

The four semi-finalists will earn an automatic spot in the U-17 World Cup.


Goalkeepers: Prabhsukhan Singh Gill, Mohammad Nawaz, Tamal Naskar, Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem;

Defenders: Hendry Antonay, Mohammad Saqlain Khan, Narender, Gaston D'Silva, Mohamad Rakip, Boris Singh Thangjam, Jitendra Singh, Reamsochung Chongompipa Aimol, Mohammed Sarif Khan;

Midfielders: Joseph Vanlalhruaia, Saurabh Meher, Abhijit Sarkar, Suresh Singh wangjam, Amarjit Singh Kiyam, Khumanthem Ninthoinganba Meetei, Lalengmawia, Sanjeev Stalin, Komal Thatal, Aniket Anil Jadhav;

Forwards: Aman Chetri, Nongthombam Joysana Singh, Nonganba Singh Akoijam.

Head coach Nicolai Pjotr Ivan Adam
Assistant coach Etibar Nizami Ibrahimov
Goalkeeping coach Luis Mario Aguiar
Physiotherapist Sampath Babu
COO/CEO Abhishek Yadav
Conditioning coach Daniel Paul Beckitt
Team manager Velu Dhayalamani