Indian national team: India squad announced for Bhutan friendly

Following the cancelled tour to USA, the Blue Tigers will face Bhutan before playing another friendly against Puerto Rico

A 20-man squad of the Indian national team has landed in Thimphu, on Monday, for India's upcoming friendly match against the host nation Bhutan which is slated for August 13.

As Goal reported earlier, the Blue Tigers' proposed tour to USA did not materialise and India are set to play friendlies against Bhutan and Puerto Rico instead.

Bhutan are ranked 192 in the world while Puerto Rico are placed at 112, 39 places above India.

Before departing for Bhutan, a 23-man Indian squad attended a 13-day pre-season training camp in the Indian capital where the national team coach Stephen Constantine looked at at the prospect of expanding the pool of players in the senior team.

Constantine took into account that Saturday's friendly will be played at a higher altitude with a colder temperature than Delhi and urged his side to acclimatise fast.

“It’s going to be a lot more colder than what we had (weather) in Delhi. But that’s something which we will have to adjust to. Obviously the match will be played at a much higher altitude but we will train for four days to acclimatise," said the Englishman

However, he added, “Dealing with different climatic conditions is part of international football and at the end of the day it all boils down to how you play. I don’t think the weather in Bhutan will be a concern. Obviously the temperatures will be quite different from what we have at present in India.”

Bhutan are presently preparing for their 2019 Asian Cup UAE Qualifiers and the match will serve as a preparation for their first-leg match against Bangladesh on 6 September.

The squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Subrata Paul, T.P Rehenesh, Laxmikant Kattimani.

Defenders: Sandesh Jhingan, Fulganco Cardozo, Chinglesana Konsham Singh, Aiborlang Khongjee, Koushik Sarkar.

Midfielders: Isaac Chhakchhuak, Rowllin Borges, Dhanpal Ganesh, David Lalrinmuana, Vinit Rai, Germanpreet Singh, Pronay Halder, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Jackichand Singh.

Forwards: Holicharan Narzary, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sumeet Passi.