Colaco leaves three CFL heroes out of East Bengal's Federation Cup squad

The eight-time champions of the tournament kick-start their campaign next Monday in Goa...
East Bengal gaffer Armando Colaco chose to leave a number of key personnel who impressed in the Calcuuta Football League (CFL) out of the Federation Cup roster.

The 20-man squad chosen by the experienced coach doesn’t include midfielders Sukhwinder Singh and young wingers, Abhinas Ruidas and Prahlad Roy, all of whom played pivotal role in the Red and Golds’ CFL winning campaign.

The squad doesn’t have an orthodox left back also, with both Saumik Dey and Robert Lalthlamuana out with injuries suffered during their Indian Super League (ISL) stints. In their absence, the coach has already spoken of his plans to deploy either of Raju Gaikwad or Harmanjot Khabra as a full-back.

All the four foreign players, namely Ranti Martins, Dudu Omagbemi, Leo Bertos and new recruit Milan Susak are part of the travelling squad.

Subhasish Roy Chowdhury, who joined the squad only this week on loan from Atletico de Kolkata is part of the team while Mohammed Rafique, the hero of Indian Super League final has also made it to the final squad.

Other notable absentees include Anthony Soren, Safar Sardar and R.Dhanarajan.

The Kolkata giants have been placed in the Group A in the country’s premier cup tournament alongside Dempo SC, Royal Wahingdoh, Mumbai FC and Sporting Clube de Goa and will start their campaign against the Golden Eagles on 29th December, 2014.

Full Squad: Subhasish Roy Chowdhury, Abhra Mondal, Luis Barreto, Deepak Mandal, Abhishek Das, Arnab Mondal, Milan Susak, Raju Gaikwad, Gurwinder Singh, Harmanjot Singh Khabra, Joaquim Abranches, Shylo Malsawmtluanga, Leo Bertos, Mehtab Hossain, Cavin Lobo, Lalrindika Ralte, Mohammed Rafique, Baljit Singh Sahni, Dudu Omagbemi and Ranti Martins.