Trivia: FA Premier League 2003-04

Amoy Ghoshal presents some interesting facts from the 2003-04 Premier League season.

1) Arsenal emerged as champions, winning their 13th League title with 90 points, 10 points clear of 2nd placed Chelsea.

2) But Arsenal’s league triumph was no ordinary triumph; they won the league without losing a single game, thus earning the title of “The Invincibles”; their final record read played 38 won 26 drawn 12 lost 0. They became the first team since Preston to complete the entire season without losing a match. Preston did it in the 1888-89 season but that record was achieved by playing just 22 games

3) Arsenal’s unbeaten run extended to 40 games at the end of the season and they were just two games away from equaling Nottingham Forest’s record of going 42 matches unbeaten.

4) Arsenal also broke Man United’s record of most points scored in a season by finishing with 90 points.

5) Man United went on to win the FA Cup beating Milwall 3-0 in the final; it was their 11th FA Cup triumph.

6) Steve McClaren guided Middlesbrough to their first ever major trophy, when they defeated Bolton 2-1 in the league cup Final. Thus making McClaren the first ever English Manager to win a major trophy since Brian Little who won the League Cup with Aston Villa in 1996.

7) The 2003-04 season saw the start of the Roman Abramovich era at Chelsea. His £150million takeover of Chelsea Football Club in June 2003 was set to change the fortunes of the West London club. Claudio Ranieri was allowed to spend more than £100million and Chelsea soon had the strongest squad  on paper. The huge investment didn’t bring any trophy but a runner up finish in the league and a semi final appearance had warned the rest of Europe for the following season.

8) For the first time ever, the top two spots of England were occupied by clubs from london, Arsenal(north London) and Chelsea (west London).

9) For the first and so far the only time in the history of the Premier League all three relegated teams finished with the same number of points.  Leicester City, Leeds United and Wolverhampton Wanderers all finished with 33 points each.

10) 1012 goals were scored at an average of 2.66

11) Arsenal scored the most (73) and conceded the least (26). On the other side Wolves scored the least (38) and Leeds United conceded the most (79).

12) Thierry Henry once again won both the PFA Players’ Player of the Year and Football Writers’ Association Player of the Year Award after scoring 39 goals in all competitions.

13) He became the first player to win both awards in consecutive years and also became the first player to win the Football Writers’ Association Player of the Year Award in consecutive seasons.

14) Scott Parker won the PFA Young  Player of the Year Award.

15) Arsene Wenger won his 3rd Manager of the Year Award.

16) Thierry Henry finished as top scorer with 30 goals.

Amoy Ghoshal.