Premier Futsal: Ryan Giggs' Mumbai 5s crowned champions

Ryan Giggs' Mumbai 5s beat Michel Salgado's Kochi 5s in penalties to lift the Premier Futsal trophy.

Ryan Giggs-led Mumbai 5s have been crowned the champions of the inaugural edition of Premier Futsal as they beat Michel Salgado’s Kochi 5s 3-2 in a dramatic penalty shootout as after forty minutes they sides were locked at 1-1.

The game wasn’t the most impressive by any standards and was somewhat cagier than the previous encounters one has grown accustomed to throughout this tournament, with both teams playing with a caution-first approach to not lose in the final.

However, given the format of the sport, a cagy futsal final is still entertaining for someone who correlates cagy with the kind of dour 0-0 draws seen in football.

Kochi took the lead in the very first quarter as one of their most tenacious attackers Moraes tucked the ball in from up close.

The second quarter was pretty low on key talking points, but the third quarter saw Salgado’s freekick find the back of the net, only for the former Real Madrid man’s effort to be ruled out as the freekick was supposed to be an indirect one.

Mumbai’s Angellot was a real thorn in Kochi’s defense with his intricate runs getting him close to scoring as the minutes ticked by.

And it was indeed Angellot who brought them back on level terms in the dying embers of the last quarter.

The game went on to penalties, where both the legends on show, Giggs and Salgado missed their penalties. However, Mumbai’s goalkeeper scored and saved his opposite number’s kick in sudden death to land them the trophy, making it another piece of silverware for the Welshman with more than a dozen Premier League trophies.

The end of tournament awards were given to: 

Best Indian Player - Jonathan Piers, Bangalore

Most Valuable Player - Angellot, Mumbai

Golden Arm-Band - Chaguinha, Kochi