Constantine selects final 26-man India shortlist for 2018 World Cup qualifier against Nepal

After selecting 32 players in a preliminary list, the India boss has pruned it down to 26 to take part in the preparatory camp in Guwahati...

Stephen Constantine has decieded to trim the shortlist down to twenty-six players as he prepares for his first match back in charge of the national team. 

The squad would be reporting to the Camp in Guwahati from March 4 onwards. However those involved in I-League matchups on that day will join the team a day later. 

A list of 32 probables were earlier announced by National Coach Stephen Constantine and now it has been cut down by six players. 

Goalkeeper Karanjit Singh who is not getting any first team action with Subrata Paul ahead of him in the pecking order, missed the cut. Joining him was Rowilson Rodrigues of Dempo SC and Raju Gaikwad of East Bengal. Rino Anto who had recently been out of action with an injury, too failed to make the list.

Mehtab Hossein too was not selected by the Englishman in the list of probables with team-mates Lalrindika Ralte and Cavin Lobo being retained in midfield.

Romeo Fernandes who had recently confirmed his move to Brazil's Atletico PR is the only forward to miss out.

The first match between India and Nepal would be played at the Indira Gandhi Athletics Stadium in Sajusarai on March 12, while the return leg is slated to be played in Kathmandu on March 17. 


GOALKEEPERS: Subrata Paul (Mumbai City FC/Salgaocar), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (Stabek FC), Arindam Bhattacharya (FC Pune City/Bharat FC).

DEFENDERS: Keegan Pereira (Bengaluru FC) , Saumik Dey (Kerala Blasters/East Bengal), Arnab Mondal (Atletico de Kolkata/East Bengal), Aiborlang Khongjee (North East United/Shillong Lajong), Sandesh Jhingan (Kerala Blasters/Sporting Clube de Goa),  Augustin Fernandes (Salgaocar SC), Pritam Kotal (FC Pune City/Mohun Bagan).

MIDFIELDERS: Prabir Das (FC Goa/Dempo), Francis Fernandes (Delhi Dynamos/Dempo), Lenny Rodrigues (FC Pune City/Dempo), Eugeneson Lyngdoh (Bengaluru FC), Anthony D’Souza (Pune FC), Cavin Lobo (Atletico de Kolkata/East Bengal), Lalrindika Ralte (Mumbai City FC/East Bengal), Dhanapal Ganesh (Pune FC).

FORWARDS: Mandar Rao Desai,  Alwyn George, Holicharan Narzary (all FC Goa/Dempo), Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh (both Bengaluru FC), Balwant Singh, Jeje Lalpekhlua (both Chennaiyin FC/Mohun Bagan), Jackichand Singh (Royal Wahingdoh).