Assam beat Chandigarh to be crowned champions of the 34th Mir Iqbal Hussain Trophy

The North eastern state emerged on top in the sub-junior national football tournament played at the PJN stadium in Goa...
Assam clinched the 34th Mir Iqbal Hussain trophy by defeating Chandigarh 2-0 in the final played at the Nehru stadium, Goa, on Friday evening.

The winners scored a goal in each half through Milan Basumataray and Zeherui Islam while Danswrang Basumatary ensured that he kept a clean sheet in the finale.

Assam took over the procedings and put down two early opportunities in the first 10 minutes of the game after which, in the very next minute, Basumataray found the target from close range after being setup by team-mate Lalzeiram Hmar from the right.

Chandigarh went into break with a goal down but did show a lot of intent in the second session of play as Samuel Lalmuanpuia almost scored in the 50th minute had it not been for Assam goalkeeper Danswrang Basumatary's heroics.

However, the trailing side were also unlucky on another occasion when Vikram Singh's strike from afar only managed to find the upright in their search for that elusive equaliser.

In a counterattack launched by Assam, Robin Chhetri could not finish off his own solo effort after the striker did well to burst through the Chandigarh defense.

Eventually, the victory was ensured for Assam when Zeherui Islam connected to a pass by Rafel Narzary with the rival goalkeeper Zothanmawia standing no chance.

The Chief Guest for the evening was none other than AIFF Player-of-the-Year and India international Sunil Chhetri who distributed the prizes.

How do you stay up to date with football when on the move? With – your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game