News Live Scores

Chhetri Shines At First FPAI Awards Nite!

20 55: Peep, peep, peeeep. That's it folks! It's been a terrific night for Indian football. The youngsters have triumphed in Dhaka to win back the SAFF Cup, while the FPAI has done its bit by superbly organizing the first awards night! It's been Sunil Chhetri's evening through and through here in Kolkata, as he bagged the two big awards. Other winners were Baljit Sahni, David Booth, and Odafa Okolie. This is Rahul Sengupta signing off!

20 52:
The Vote of Thanks is being delivered by CEO of FPAI,  Mr.Sumit Mukherjee to put an end to this historic event.

20 48:
Here is the moment we have all been waiting for! Sunil Chhetri, Mehraj, Subhasish, and Steven Dias in different costumes dancing away to the Tamil blockbuster "Apudi Pode" !!! Extraordinary!

20 42:
Sunil is clearly overwhelmed by the award. He thanks all the National team players for helping him out, and also mentions that he had never dreamed of this day. The lad also congratulates the other nominees for the award, Anthony Pereira and NS Manju.

20 40:
The award is handed over by Sailen Manna and Alokesh Banerjee (Senior Marketing Manager UB Group). Any guesses who won it?

SUNIL CHHETRI! The Delhi lad wins the biggie! The award is probably for his performance in the AFC Challenge Cup last year, where he scored a hattrick in the final. Congratulations to Sunil!

20 32:
It's time for the big one. The next award is for the BEST INDIAN PLAYER. The nominees are:

Sunil Chhetri
NS Manju
Anthony Pereira

20 25:
Bhaichung announces India's victory in SAFF Cup, and a big round of applause follows it! What a performance it has been from the U-23 guys! They showed real bottle in the final to take the game to penalties, and then Arindam did the rest! Surely he is the Man of the Tournament.

20 20: Amazing performance by the skilled lad! He's keeping all the footballers from India cheering!

20 15:
Now, we have a freestyle display by Daniel from Holland (Stood 3rd in European Championships and 5th best in the World Cup). This is amazing stuff!

20 12:
Odafa, who came all the way from Goa to receive this, thanks God for this achievement. He also says Brazilian Jose Barreto is his inspiration. It's been a phenomenal, record-breaking year for the Nigerian. This is the least he deserves.

20 10:
The award is given away by legendary footballers PK Banerjee and Ex-Olymian Badru Banerjee. And the award goes to.....Who else?! ODAFA OKOLIE!!!

I think no one can argue against this one!

20 07:
The next award is now for the category of BEST FOREIGN PLAYER. The Nominees are:

Odafa Okolie
Jose Ramirez Barreto
Elijah Junior

20 00:
What a way to celebrate! Sunil Chhetri seems to be the Shahrukh Khan of the evening, as he now performs to "Khudaya Khair" from the movie Billu, along with choreographer Sonia Jeffers! Never in my dreams did I think I would live to see this!

19 57:
The award is given away by Chima Okorie and Subhash Bhowmick. It goes to.......SUNIL CHHETRI!!

The prodigal son of Indian football wins the award! He's been doing well at Dempo this season, and even though he didn't impress much at East Bengal, he was instrumental in India's AFC Challenge Cup triumph!

19 55:
The next category is the BEST PLAYER OF THE YEAR (FANS' CHOICE). Here are the nominees:

Jose Ramirez Barreto
Sunil Chhetri
Odafa Okolie
Rakesh Masih
Antony Perreira

19 48:
Booth gives a modest "Thank you speech", and thanks the FPAI, as well the players who have played under him.

19 47:
And the award goes to DAVID BOOTH!! The Mahindra United coach has flown from Mumbai to collect the award! It was presented to him by Dr.Vece Paes and Mr.Gautam Mohan Chakravarty (Police Commissioner, Kolkata).

However, the award is primarily for Booth's great work at Mumbai FC last season, and also the good start to the season Mahindra United have enjoyed.

19 45:
The second award now! It's the BEST COACH award, and the nominees are:

Karim Bencherifa
Zoran Djordjevic
David Booth

19 42:
Another dance performance! This is lethal! Mehrajuddin Wadoo and Snehashish Chakraborty forget their local rivalries and perform together on "Pyaar mein twist". My my! This really is a function with a twist!

19 40:
Sahni, naturally, could not make it to Kolkata. Bhaichung accepts the award on his behalf, and wishes the lad a speedy recovery. The show is being hosted by RJ Jimmy from Red FM.

19 38:
Biswajit Bhattacharya is to present the award.......

It is won by BALJIT SAHNI of JCT!!!

The Punjabi has been brilliant in the I-League this season, and would have been in Dhaka right now had he not met with a bike accident in Goa.

19 36:
Now the award ceremony, the nominees for the YOUNG PLAYER award category are:

Subhas Singh
Rakesh Masih
Baljit Sahni

19 35:
Cheers from all around as we see a new avatar for Steven and Sunil who are exceptional with their dancing shoes on! We wonder who the Desi Girl is, for whom they're dancing?

19 33:
Is this a dream? Steven Dias and Sunil Chhetri perform on the song Desi Girl! Following Bhaichung's footsteps! What a start to the event!!

19 30:
India kicks off with its first ever Awards for Football. The atmosphere is amazing,and it's quite an experience sharing the room with all the major football stars in India.

19 25:
We kick off with the event with the inauguration speech by President Bhaichung Bhutia. 49 players voted in total.

19 20:
Hello everybody welcome to the live updates from India's first Football Awards hosted by Football Players Association in India. The event is just about to begin here is the attendance register for the stars present in the ceremony:

Baichung Bhutia, Sunil Chhetri, Renedy Singh, Antony Pareira, david Booth, SUbahs Bhowmick, Yusuf Yakubu, Jose Ramirez Barreto, Edmilson, Marcos, Mihir Bose, Biswajit Bhattchaarya.