Bengaluru FC granted AFC license for 2016-17 season

The Blues of Bangalore are the only Indian club to have been granted the AFC club license for the upcoming season…

After making it into the AFC Cup final earlier this month, Bengaluru FC have added yet another feather to their cap.

The Club Licensing Committee of the I-League, comprising of Dr G.S. Mungali, Jeet Parikh  and Sunando Dhar, met on Tuesday.

Bengaluru FC fulfilled not only the national licensing criterion but also that of the AFC as they ticked all the right boxes in the grade A of the Indian club licensing regulations.

The rest of the I-League clubs, namely Mumbai FC, DSK Shivajians, East Bengal, Mohun Bagan, Sporting Goa, Dempo SC and Shillong Lajong, were granted the national license.

“Apart from Bengaluru FC, Sporting Clube de Goa did a good job and came very close to getting the AFC license too. However, they do not have a pro-licensed coach and hence failed to make the cut,” Dhar, who serves as the I-League's CEO, informed Goal.