I-League: East Bengal sign Rowllin Borges, Jackichand Singh and David Lalrinmuana

The Red and Golds have brought in a number of high profile names to bolster their squad for the upcoming season...

Kolkata giants East Bengal have signed three India internationals Rowlin Borges, Jackichand Singh and David Lalrinmuana, Goal understands.

The team, which had last won the national title in 2004, will be desperate to win the I-League for the first time, especially after arch-rival Mohun Bagan's victories in I-League and Federation Cup in the last couple of years.

Rowlin, who agreed a deal with the club earlier this week, has been a regular starter for NorthEast United in the third edition of the Indian Super League (ISL), and will be challenging veteran Mehtab Hossain for a starting berth.

Jackichand and David, on the other hand, play for Mumbai City FC in the high-profile league. The latter had an excellent season with Aizawl FC last year while Singh had his breakthrough campaign in 2014-15 playing for Royal Wahingdoh.

The above mentioned trio have made their debuts for the national football team in the last eighteen months after Stephen Constantine took charge of the Blue Tigers.

East Bengal have also agreed deals with T.P. Rehenesh and Robin Gurung. The club recently won the local Calcutta Football League for the seventh consecutive time and will now like to replicate their dominance on the national level.

They were also linked with Delhi Dynamos striker Richard Gadze but the Ghanaian stressed that there have been no talks as of yet.

"This is new to me as well," he laughed off the rumours, while speaking to Goal after Delhi's 1-1 draw against FC Pune City on Thursday evening.

The I-League will be starting on 7th January next year.