Pune Colts triumph in Chandigarh

Another feather in the cap for the I-League side who boast one of the best youth systems in the country…

Having won the I-League Under-19 twice in the last three years and also triumphing in the Bayern Youth Cup for Under-16’s earlier this year, Pune FC have now gone on to win the All-India 12th Administrator’s Cup at the Sector 42, Football Ground, Chandigharh.

The Red Lizards’ Under-17 side downed Punjab’s Mahilpur Football Academy 2-1 and thereby had an outstanding record of having won all their five matches.

Amos Lalneinga and Omega scored the two goals for Pune in the 38th and 58th minutes respectively after Mahilpur took the lead in the 26th minute.

What makes Pune’s triumph sweet is that all the boys in the Under-17 squad are part of the Penninsula Pune Football Academy.

Striker Aniket Jadhav finished the tournament with eight goals to his name.


F: b Mahilpur Football Academy 2-1 (Amos Lalnienga 38’ & Omega 58’)

SF: b Dalbir Football Academy, Patiala 4-0 (Amos Lalnienga 24’, Omega 45’, Aniket Jadhav 83', 90+1'

Grp: b Dashmesh Marshal Sports, Anandpur Sahib 8-0 (Jagadish Gadewad 1', 74', Amos Lalnienga 47', Sebastian Thangmuansang 51', 56', Aniket Jadhav 65', 82', 84')

Grp: b Thau Sports Academy, Imphal 2-0 (Asish Rai 36' & Aniket Jadhav 64')        

Grp: b Madhya Pradesh Football Association 7-0 (Aniket Jadhav 31', 83', Sunil Mane 44', Amos Lalnienga 49', 53' Jagadish Gadewad 63', Kiran Saravanan 81')