Balwant Singh named Indian Player of the Year and more from the FPAI Indian Football Awards

In the star studded FPAI awards night held in Kolkata, Balwant Singh won the pick of the awards as he was declared Indian Player of the Year for his 16 goals this season...
Balwant Singh was the pick of the season as he received the prestigious Indian Player of the Year in the FPAI Awards Night hosted in Kolkata in association McDowell's No.1 soda and GOAL was there...

The Churchill Brothers striker had a season tally of 16 goals and was instrumental in Churchill Brothers winning the Federation Cup and securing progression to the next round of the AFC Cup.

Bengaluru FC chief coach, Ashley Westwood was rightly the Coach of the Season for leading the fledgling team, only a year old to the pinnacle of Indian football. 

Alwyn George scored a brace, not on the field but in the awards as he bagged the Young Player of the Season the second year in running.

Daryl Duffy, Salgaocar's new Scottish recruit was the Foreign Player of the Season as he had set the I-League charts on fire scoring 14 goals this season and led Salgaocar to the third place on the table.

Bothang Haokip who played a key role in Shillong Lajong's brilliant run to lead them to their season high tally points tally was voted the Fans' Player of the Season, a testament to the fan following in the North East.

Among other notable awardees were the recently retired Jose Ramirez Baretto, a Mohun Bagan legend who was awarded the McDowell No. 1 Spirit award for his contribution to Indian football.

The Lifetime Achievement award went to Indian football legend, P.K Banerjee.


How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.