Mumbai Tigers make six new signings, including former East Bengal custodian Arnab Das Sharma

The Mumbai based club have signed five new players after a trial, while also sealing a deal for former East Bengal and Salgaocar custodian, Arnab Das Sharma...

GOALBY   AYUSH SRIVASTAVA     Follow @ayush_sri on twitter

Mumbai Tigers continue to steadily build their squad for next season, as they roped in six more players for their inaugural I-League campaign in 2013-14.

Goal can reveal that the club has decided to hand five of the 47 players that came for trials, an year-long contract.

The list includes winger S Sanju Kumar, who impressed for Bhawanipore in the second division last term, as well as former Pailan Arrows defensive midfielder Sehnaj Singh, Air India winger Abhishek Ambekar, ex-Sporting Clube de Goa player Pritam Singh and Raju Sohail Haque, who plied his trade for RCF in Mumbai, as a utility midfielder last campaign.

Sanju Kumar, who is represented by Xigo Football Management, confirmed the same in an exclusive chat with Goal. “I have signed an one year contract with Mumbai Tigers. There were 47 players from clubs like Pailan Arrows, DSK Shivajians and Pune FC. Bimal Ghosh (technial director of Mumbai Tigers) had kept a trial for a week and then he took five (of the trialists). (They are) Sehnaj (Singh), Abhishek (Ambekar), Pritam Singh, Raju (Sohail Haque), and myself.”

Apart from the above mentioned 5 players, the club has also signed former Salgaocar FC and East Bengal custodian Arnab Das Sharma, as competition for T.P Rehenesh.

Arnab has previously played under Bimal Ghosh at Air India, where he had two stellar spells, but did not find the same success in Kolkata and Goa. He represented Mohammedan Sporting last season.

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.