News Live Scores

Know your enemy: Indonesia

3:06 AM IST 06/11/18
Worawut Namvech, Thailand, SEA Games
Five times runners-up in the AFF Suzuki Cup, Indonesia are hungry for glory and will no doubt believe this is their time

They have finished a record five times as runners-up in the AFF Suzuki Cup. There is no denying that Indonesia will be hungrier than ever to lift the coveted AFF trophy when they kick off their campaign against Singapore on Nov 9.

Drawn into the Group of Death alongside Singapore, Thailand, Philippines and Timor Leste, Tim Garuda will need to be at their best should they intend to win the tournament.

Indonesia experienced a coaching upheaval when Luis Milla decided not to extend his contract with the national team. However Bima Sakti’s appointment as interim coach has galvanised the team and Indonesia will not be lacking belief that this is their time.

In their last three international matches Indonesia remain unbeaten as they won against Mauritius (1-0), Myanmar (3-0) and drew 1-1 against Hong Kong.

New faces

Indonesia’s team at this edition of the tournament will see new faces.  One of them is  Dedik Setiawan (young striker from Arema AFC). Another fresh face is Alfath Fathier (Madura United’s fullback).

Indonesia will use majority of their players from Asian Games teams, combined with some experienced players from the AFF Championship’s 2016 squad, such as Rizky Rizaldi Pora, Stefano Lilipaly, Bayu Pradana, Fachruddin Wahyudi.

Alberto Goncalves will be the new sensation for Indonesian’s attack, the Brazilian born forward scored goals against Myanmar and Hong Kong.

Formation: 4-2-3-1

Indonesia squad

Goalkeepers: Andritany Ardhiyasa (Persija Jakarta), Muhammad Ridho (Borneo FC),  Awan Setho (Bhayangkara FC)

Defenders:  Putu Gede (Bhayangkara FC), Gavin Kwan (Barito Putera), Hansamu Yama (Barito Putera), Fachruddin Aryanto (Madura United), Bagas Adi (Arema FC),  Ricky Fajrin (Bali United), Alfath Fathier (Madura United), Rizki Pora (Barito Putera)

Midfielders: Zulfiandi (Sriwijaya FC), Muhammad Hargianto (Bhayangkara FC), Bayu Pradana (Mitra Kukar), Stefano Lilipaly (Bali United), Evan Dimas (Selangor FA), Septian David (Mitra Kukar), Irfan Jaya (Persebaya Surabaya), Saddil Ramdani (Persela Lamongan), Febri Hariyadi (Persib Bandung),  Riko Simanjuntak (Persija Jakarta)

Forwards: Dedik Setiawan (Arema FC),  Alberto Goncalves (Sriwijaya FC)