Indian Football: Eastern Sporting Union win inaugural Indian Women's League

Eastern Sporting Union Indian Women's League 2017 Final
AIFF Media
Manipur based Eastern Sporting Union won the final 3-0 over Odisha's Rising Student's Club...

Eastern Sporting Union overcame Rising Student’s Club's challenge in the final of the inaugural Indian Women's League to be crowned champions as they rounded off a resounding 3-0 victory at the Ambedkar Stadium in New Delhi on Tuesday.

The Bembem Devi coached side saw Kamala Devi (32’, 66’) bag a brace as Prameshwori Devi (57’) too scored to down the Odisha-based team's hopes of clinching silverware after they topped the group stage with 12 points.

In a game dominated by the eventual champions, Kamala Devi took a swipe at goal as early as the third minute. But her shot didn't have much meat to trouble the opposition goalkeeper.

Two minutes past the half hour mark, Kamala Devi tapped in a cross from Prameshwori Devi from the right flank to break the deadlock.

The same duo tried hard to find the opening a couple of times but the Rising Student's Union defenders held a tight line to just be a goal behind at half-time.

ESU re-started things with renewed gusto as within two minutes Kamala Devi's cross was nearly converted by Kashmina but the latter's shot failed to find the net and went over the bar.

Article continues below

Twelve minutes after the breather, Prameshwori Devi came good after playing a one-two with Kashmina and scored from a narrow-angle to make the scoreline read 2-0.

The team from Odisha had almost conceded defeat after the second as they found it difficult to contain repeated incursions by Eastern Sporting Union into their won box.

Kamala Devi not only turned out to be the star of the game but also the entire tournament as she brought up her 11th goal of the campaign in style.

The fleet-footed forward burst into the opposition box and blasted the ball into the back of the net to make it 3-0.

Eastern Sporting Union could have added more gloss to the scoreline as chances came in plenty. However, with the result already secured it mattered little as the full-time scoreline read 3-0.

The champions were awarded a cash prize of INR 10 lakhs while Rising Student’s Club received INR 5 lakhs for finishing runners-up.

Jabamani Tudu bagged the ‘Emerging Player Award’ of INR 75,000. Umapati Devi was awarded the ‘Most Valuable Player Award’ for INR 1.25 lakhs. For finishing top scorer, Kamala Devi bagged a cheque of INR 1 lakh.