Cedric Bakambu, Chancel Mbemba, Gael Kakuta out of DRC Afcon squad for Liberia

Beijing Guoan striker Cedric Bakambu will miss DRC’s trip to Liberia for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifier

DRC coach Florent Ibenge has dropped Cedric Bakambu, Gael Kakuta and Chancel Mbemba from the squad to visit Liberia for the September 9 Afcon qualifier.

Bakambu is a headline omission from the DRC squad, having featured for his Chinese Super League side Beijing Guoan against Tianjin Teda last Saturday.

Enjoying a rich vein of form, Bakambu has managed 13 goals in 15 matches for Guoan this season.

The former Villarreal forward struck a brace to help DRC beat neighbours Congo Brazzaville 3-1 in their opening Group G match in June 2017.

FC Porto forward Chancel Mbemba who grabbed DRC’s other goal in that match will also not be part of the trip to Monrovia.

Former Chelsea winger Gael Kakuta, now with La Liga side Rayo Vallecano, is another absentee.

Regulars including Aston Villa’s Yannick Bolasie and Junior Kabananga will lead the team in Liberia together with Stoke City forward Benik Afobe, who continues his flirtation with the team.

DRC are second in Group G which is led by Zimbabwe on goal difference.

Article continues below


DRC squad

MATAMPI MVUMI – Al Ansar (Saudi Arabia), MOSSI Anthony – Chiasso (Switzerland), MABRUKI Nathan - Daring Club Motema Pembe, ISSAMA MPEKO – TP Mazembe, DJUMA SHAHANI – AS Vita, IKOKO Jordan – Guingamp (France), NGONDA Glody – AS Vita, MASUAKU Arthur – West Ham (England), UNGENDA MUSELENGE – Primeiro de Agosto (Angola), MOKE Wilfred – Konyaspor (Turkey), LUYINDAMA Christian – Standard de Liège (Belgium), BANGALA Yannick – AS Vita, MUNGANGA Nelson – AS Vita, LEMA MABIDI – Raja Casablanca (Morocco), KEBANO Neeskens – Fulham (England), MAGHOMA Jacques – Birmingham (England), MPOKU Paul-José – Standard de Liège (Belgium), NGOMA LUAMBA Fabrice – AS Vita, MUBELE Firmin – Toulouse (France), KABANANGA Junior – Al Nasr Riyad (Saudi Arabia), MESCHAK ELIA – TP Mazembe, BOLINGI Jonathan – Mouscron (Belgium), AFOBE Bénik – Stoke City(England), ASSOMBALANGA Britt – Middlesbrough (England), BOLASIE YALA Yannick – Aston Villa (England), AKOLO Chadrack – Stuttgart (Germany)

Next article:
Iran 0 Iraq 0: Team Melli top Group D after dull draw
Next article:
Vietnam 2 Yemen 0: Quang Hai shines to give Golden Dragons hope
Next article:
Marcelo Bielsa defies Leeds United quit rumours with passionate defence of 'spygate' incident
Next article:
Mislintat set to leave as Arsenal continue search for technical director
Next article:
James is playing for Bayern future – Kovac