News Live Scores
East Bengal

CFL 2018: East Bengal eye big win against sturdy Peerless

6:30 PM IST 05/09/18
East Bengal CFL 2018
After an exciting derby match, Bastob Roy’s men are up against a gritty Peerless side in their ninth match of Calcutta Football League…

East Bengal take on Peerless SC in their ninth match of the 2018 Calcutta Football League (CFL) Premier Division ‘A’ on Thursday at the East Bengal ground.

After a nerve-wrecking derby which saw the Kolkata giants sharing honours, the Red and Golds will try to get back to winning ways against Biswajit Bhattacharya’s side.

East Bengal are currently second in the league table behind rivals Mohun Bagan on goal difference. Both teams had 20 points after the eighth round.

With just three matches left in the league, it looks like goal difference will play a big role in determining the champions this season. Thus it is important for Bastob Roy’s men to register a big win in the rest of the matches.

Peerless, on paper, are a weaker opposition to East Bengal but they have had a dream run in the CFL this year. Under experienced coach Biswajit Bhattacharya, the team has registered four wins out of seven matches and are third on the table.

They have experienced players like Ansumana Kromah, Syed Rahim Nabi, Naro Hari Shrestha and others who have the ability to create an upset. They are undefeated against the other two giants Mohun Bagan and Mohammedan Sporting. They had defeated Mohammedan 1-0 and managed a 1-1 draw against the Mariners.

East Bengal are likely to make a couple of changes in the starting lineup that played the Kolkata Derby on Sunday. Kamalpreet Singh, who had a terrible outing could be replaced by Prakash Sarkar in the central midfield.

Mahmoud Al Amna has an eye infection and is likely to sit out. Lalrindika Ralte, who inspired East Bengal’s comeback against Mohun Bagan will replace the Syrian midfielder.

East Bengal possible XI: Rakshit Dagar; Samad Ali Mallick, Mehtab Singh, Johnny Acosta, Lalram Chullova; Prakash Sarkar, Kassim Aidar; Laldanmawia Ralte, Lalrindika Ralte, Brandon Vanlalremdika; Joby Justin.