KCB FC 1-0 Wazito FC: Bankers register fifth straight win to stay top
DERRICK OTANGA of KCB celebebrates.
Goal Kenya.
The Bankers are now on 15 points, four more than second-placed Kariobangi Sharks

KCB FC have opened a four-point lead on top of the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Premier League table after defeating Wazito FC by a solitary goal. 

The only goal of the match was scored in the second half by Derrick Otanga.

Both teams came into the match with a cautious approach, avoiding conceding early.

It was the Bankers who came into the match full of confidence, after getting maximum points from their opening four games while their opponents have struggled for consistency.

Prior to the game, the Francis Kimanzi-led charges had managed to collect five points from the four games they had played which came from a win and two draws.

In the 29th minute, former Mathare United winger Kevin Kimani managed to bring in a good cross from the right. Michael Owino managed to head the ball but it went over the crossbar.

The former had a chance to test the goalkeeper from a free-kick in the 35th minute, but just like Owino, his effort went over the bar.

On the Banker's side, Derrick Otanga and Simon Munala had chances to score but were closed down quickly.

Henry Onyango managed to get in a good position in the 38th minute but his effort missed the target.

The goalkeepers of both teams had less work to do in the first half as the strikers failed to beat the defenders.

After the break, the Zedekiah Otieno-led charges upped their tempo hoping to get a goal. Their tactical change eventually paid dividends in the 50th minute when Otanga was slipped into the danger zone, and he managed to beat goalkeeper Otieno for an opening goal.

It happened to be the only goal of the game. Not even late attacks by the visitors would yield an equalizer.

The Bankers have now managed to collect 15 points from five games, while Wazito are on five from as many games.

KCB XI: Joseph Ochuka, Baka Badi, Dennis Odhiambo, Nashon Nanyendo, Rama Mwenda, Michael Mutinda, Simon Munala, Brian Ndenga, Derrick Otanga, Henry Onyango, David Ambulu

Article continues below

Subs : Daniel Odiwuor, Bethuel Achola, Martin Mbugua, Reagan Otieno, Vincent Wasambo, Victor Ochami, Brian Wepo, Enock Obiero, Samuel Mwangi, Thomas Harun, Abwao Antonio, Victor Omondi

Wazito XI: Lizarazu Otieno, Dennis Sikhai, Dennis Njire, Bernard Ochieng', Johnstone Omurwa, Fidel Otieno, Whyvonne Isuza, Kevin Kimani, Musa Masika, Boniface Omondi, Michael Owino.

Subs: Fredrick Odhiambo, Joseph Irungu, Vincent Ouma, Joshua Nyatini, Amos Asembeka, Kevin Okumu, Maurice Owino, David Odhiambo, Ali Abondo.