Gor Mahia 2-0 Sony Sugar: Striker Jacques Tuyisenge shines for K'Ogalo
Goal Kenya.
K’Ogalo returned to winning ways in the league as they prepare to face Egyptian giants Zamalek in the Caf competition on Sunday

Jacques Tuyisenge scored a brace to hand Gor Mahia a deserved 2-0 win over Sony Sugar on Wednesday.

K’Ogalo needed to pick themselves up from a shock defeat against KCB last weekend and the Rwandan striker put a smile on the faces of the 'Green Army' ahead of Sunday's Caf Confederation Cup match against Zamalek.

Tuyisenge scored in either half to reduce the gap between them and leaders Mathare United to within eight points. Abdallah Wankuru made his way back to Sony Sugar squad in place of the injured Karani Meshack but the changes could not help the visitors harvest a point on the road.

The visitors were presented with a real chance in the first minute, but keeper Boniface Oluoch punched Daniel Otieno’s effort for fruitless a corner.

Gor Mahia responded, but Tuyisenge blasted his effort way off the mark. The Rwandan, however, came back to make amends of his previous miss to hand K’Ogalo the lead in the 11th minute.

Enock Agwanda could have canceled the lead just three minutes later, but his hard shot was parried for a corner by a hard-working Oluoch. Sony Sugar didn’t lose hope though, Agwanda forced a long throw, but Kelvin Wesonga narrowly missed the target.

Tuyisenge went into the referee’s book for a verbal argument with the match official moments after Agwanda flicked the ball to Ronnie Omino, who beat his markers but could not direct his shot on target, another golden chance blown away by the visitor.

But Tuyisenge rounded off the day with a brace that handed the Millers a fourth defeat of the season.

Gor Mahia XI: Boniface Oluoch, Wellington Ochieng, Shafik Batambuze, Charles Momanyi, Joachim Oluoch, Samwel Onyango, Lawrence Juma, Kenneth Muguna, Nicholas Kipkirui, Jacques Tuyiesenge and Boniface Omondi.

Article continues below

Subs: Fredrick Odhiambo, Geoffrey Ochieng, Harun Shakava, Bernard Ondiek, Francis Kahata, Dennis Oliech and Erisa Ssekisambu.

Sony Sugar XI: Kevin Omondi, Jeconiah Ogendo, Robert Ayala, Waiswa Andrew, Kelvin Wesonga, Apollo Otieno, Tobias Otieno, Wankuru Sandru, Daniel Otieno, Ayoyi Ambrose and Enock Agwanda.

Subs: Njau Samuel, Achema Robert, Ronald Omino, Joshua Otieno, Maxwell Onyango, Stephen Onyango and David Mwangi.

Comments ()