Mohun Bagan, East Bengal and the most successful teams in the Federation Cup

Last Updated
AIFF Media

The last time when the Federation Cup was held, nearly four years ago, it was Bengaluru FC who emerged victorious against record-holders Mohun Bagan in May 2017.

With the Mariners having won more than a dozen Federation Cup trophies and at least half a dozen more than any other side, Goal ranks the teams who have tasted success in the competition over a span of 40 years of it being organised.

  1. Mohun Bagan Champions of Federation Cup 2016
    AIFF Media

    Mohun Bagan (14)

    Of the 14 other winners in the competition, Mohun Bagan have won 14 of the 20 finals of the Federation Cup. However, they lost both in the first (1977) and the last (2016-17) edition of the tournament; against ITI Bangalore and Bengaluru FC respectively.

    The Green and Maroon brigade have successfully defended their title for a record six times and are the only club to win the Federation Cup in three consecutive years (1992-1994). Moreover, they defeated archrivals East Bengal in three finals.

  2. East Bengal, Federation Cup
    Getty Images

    East Bengal (8)

    Besides sharing two of their eight titles in the competition with Mohun Bagan, East Bengal have won the Federation Cup six more times.

    The Red and Golds have only once been able to negotiate a shootout successfully when they defeated Shillong Lajong in 2009-10 (0-0 a.e.t, 3-0 pen).

    Their last triumph came in 2012 when they defeated Dempo 3-2 after extra time. Edeh Chidi scored the winner in the 109th minute. 

  3. Bruno Coutinho Salgaocar
    Navhind Times

    Salgaocar (4)

    Besides winning in successive years in 1988 and 1989, Salgaocar FC's third Federation Cup title came in 1997 would be considered their most memorable of the four, when they defeated East Bengal 2-1 in the final with Bruno Coutinho scoring twice against the Kolkatan giants.

    The last time the Goan outfit won the tournament was in 2011 when they once again got the better of East Bengal (3-1) in the final.

    Salgaocar lost the final thrice, among which they lost twice against Mohun Bagan (1987 and 1994), and once to Kerala Police in 1990.

  4. Bengaluru FC Champions Federation Cup 2017

    Mohammedan, Mahindra, Bengaluru, JCT, Kerala Police (2)

    Among the five sides with two titles each, Bengaluru FC can boast of the best success rate as they won two finals in three years. JCT and Kerala Police also won on both occasions they reached the summit clash, while Mohammedan Sporting and Mahindra United won two of their five respective final appearances.

    Mohammedan defeated Mohun Bagan and East Bengal once each 1983 and 1984 respectively when they successfully defended their title. Meanwhile, Mahindra United came on top against the Black and Whites (2003) in Kolkata and more famously against Sporting Clube de Goa (2005) in Goa courtesy of Jose Ramirez Barreto's 120th-minute winner.

    Bengaluru piped Dempo to the title in 2014-15 and Mohun Bagan in 2017. Whereas JCT did a double over East Bengal (both in 1995), and Kerala Police won back-to-back titles in 1990 and 1991 against Salgaocar and Mahindra & Mahindra respectively.

  5. Churchill Brothers SC Federation Cup 2014 Champions

    Dempo, BSF, ITI Bangalore, Churchill Brothers (1)

    Indian Telephone Industries (ITI) Bangalore won the first edition in 1977 after beating a star-studded Mohun Bagan side. 

    The only time Dempo won the Federation Cup was when late Cristiano Junior (42', 78') had scored a brace in the 2-0 win over Mohun Bagan but the victory came at the cost of the Brazilian losing his life on the pitch. 

    Border Security Force (BSF) drew the first leg 2-2 and won 3-0 in the next against Mafatlal Hills at a time the Federation Cup used to have a double-leg final in the early years of the competition. 

    In the only time Churchill Brothers managed to make their way to the 2013-14 final, the Red Machines defeated Sporting Clube de Goa 3-1 in Kochi.