News Live Scores

All you need to know about the AFC Asian Cup

6:35 AM IST 05/01/19
AFC Asian Cup 2019
Here is all you need to know about the continental competition...

  • Israel AFC

    Second oldest continental football championship

    Founded in 1956, the AFC Asian Cup is the second oldest continental football championship in the world after Copa America (1916). 
  • Younis Mahmoud

    2007 - Asian Cup organised after gap of three years

    The Asian Cup is a quadrennial tournament but in 2007 it was held after a gap of three years since the Summer Olympic Games and the European Football Championship were scheduled for 2008. Iraq clinched the championship for the very first time in their history and Younis Mahmoud became the first Iraqi player to ever make it into the Ballon d'Or shortlist. ​He is also the only player in the history of the competition to score a goal in four different editions.
  • Japan AFC

    Japan - The most successful team in Asian Cup

    Japan have been champions on four occassions followed by Saudi Arabia and Iran who have won the trophy three times each. 
  • Iran 1972

    Iran - The only team to win it in three consecutive editions

    Iran is the only team in the history of the competition to win thrice successively from 1968 - 1976. But since then they have not been able to win it for the fourth time. 
  • AFC Asian Cup 2019

    New Trophy for the Champions!

    Designed by Thomas Lyte, the silverware weighs 15 kilograms and will be commissioned for the first time in 2019. The trophy is modeled over a lotus flower and the five petals symbolize the five sub-confederations under the AFC. 
  • Saudi Arabia 1996

    The Asian elites

    Since 1984, Japan (four times) and Saudi Arabia (three times) have been the most successful teams, together winning 7 of the last 9 finals.
  • Iraq v UAE

    No third place match!

    No third place match will be played from the upcoming edition in 2019 and losing semi-finalists will be listed in alphabetical order. UAE won the third place match against Iraq in 2015. 
  • india

    India's best finish came in 1964

    India became the runners-up in the 1964 edition of the tournament as they finished second behind Israel. The tournament was played in a round robin system with just four participants after 11 teams abstained from participating in the final round. Striker Inder Singh also finished joint top scorer of the tournament with two goals.
  • Tim Cahill

    Home advantage counts. Not anymore?

    The host country went on to win the championship on six occassions out of the first ten times. But since 1996, only once have the hosts lifted the trophy (Australia, 2015). 
  • Son Heung-Min South Korea Germany World Cup 2018

    Champions on debut!

    South Korea, Iran, and Saudi Arabia are the only teams to have won the tournament in their debut appearances. 
  • Ali Mabkhout Al Jazira Arabian Gulf League 2017

    Fastest Goal in Asian Cup history!

     Ali Mabkhout of the United Arab Emirates took just 14 seconds to strike against Bahrain in 2015 which is the fastest goal in the history of Asian Cup. 
  • Ali Daei

    Ali Daei - Highest number of goals

    With 14 goals to his name, Iran's Ali Daei holds the record for scoring the most number of goals in the history of the Asian Cup. With 109 goals in total, he is also the world's all-time leading goalscorer. 
  • Iran fans

    Most number of wins in Asian Cup

    With 37 wins out of 62 matches, Iran have won most number of games in the Asian Cup. They also hold the record of playing the most number of matches (62) along with South Korea in the history of the competition.