News Live Scores

When is the start of 2019-20 PSL season and which matches will be played first?

15:53 IST 15/07/2019
Mamelodi Sundowns champions, May 2019
Goal takes a look at everything you need to know ahead of the 2019-20 PSL season, including dates, venues and fixtures for the opening matches

The Premier Soccer League (PSL) is already preparing for the upcoming season and there is some exciting news in store. 

The PSL is considered one of the best leagues in the world due to world-class facilities and the financial strength of the competition. 

Mamelodi Sundowns are successfully defending their league title, bringing their overall league titles to nine since the inception of the PSL in 1996. 

Soweto giants Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs have not won silverware since 2014 and 2015 respectively, and they will be eager to make it count this time around. 

Goal takes a look at everything you need to know ahead of the 2019-20 PSL season, including its start date and fixtures for the opening matches. 

When does the new PSL season start?

PSL chairman Dr Irvin Khoza has already confirmed the 2019-20 season will get underway on the first weekend of August 2019. It will conclude on May 9, 2020. 

Next season will also see the PSL increase their prize money for the champions from R10 million to R15 million. 

The MTN8 will kick off a week after the start of the league campaign, but all eyes will be on the league, especially with all the incentives that should keep everyone on their toes from the word go. 

Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane admitted winning back-to-back titles was difficult, but he would certainly be looking to help his side pocket the R15 million prize money come May 2020. 

No less than five matches will take place on Saturday, the 3rd of August 2019 and with the remaining three fixtures taking place on Sunday, the 4th of August 2019.    

Which matches will be played first?

Fixtures for the first matches of the 2019-20 season have also been released, and football fans can look forward to some exciting encounters all-round. 

On the menu are three local derbies, namely, the Tshwane Derby, Limpopo Derby as well as the KwaZulu-Natal Derby. 

Amakhosi will be away from home in their first match of the season, while the Buccaneers will get their season underway in front of their home fans at Orlando Stadium. 

PSL new boys, Stellenbosch FC, have been handed an away fixture. The same with Bidvest Wits, who have to travel to Durban to face AmaZulu in their opening match of the campaign.      

Dates Fixtures Venues Kick-off times
August 3 Mamelodi Sundowns v SuperSport United Lucas Moripe Stadium 15h00
August 3  Chippa United v Stellenbosch FC Nelson Mandela Bay 15h00
August 3 Baroka v Cape Town City Old Peter Mokaba Stadium 15h00
August 3 Orlando Pirates v Bloemfontein Celtic Orlando Stadium 18h00
August 3 AmaZulu v Bidvest Wits King Zwelithini Stadium 20h15
August 4 Highlands Park v Kaizer Chiefs Makhulong Stadium 15h00
August 4 Black Leopards v Polokwane City Thohoyandou Stadium 15h00
August 4 Golden Arrows v Maritzburg United Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium 15h00