Weah, Pulisic & Foden join history-chasing Mbappe on Golden Boy shortlist

Phil Foden Kylian Mbappe Christian Pulisic
PSG's World Cup-winning forward is looking to become the first player to defend the award, but has competition from a team-mate and other big names

Paris Saint-Germain forward Kylian Mbappe faces competition from the likes of Timothy Weah, Christian Pulisic and Phil Foden as he seeks to defend his Golden Boy award.

The 19-year-old is looking to make history by becoming the first player to take the trophy in successive seasons.

His cause was aided considerably over the summer when he helped to inspire France to World Cup glory in Russia.

He has also been among the goals at club level in 2018-19 after returning to the domestic stage with PSG.

Mbappe will be the heavy favourite to be named the best young player on the planet once more, but there are several other candidates who could run him close.

PSG team-mate Weah, the son of former World Player of the Year George, has emerged through the ranks at Parc des Princes to generate plenty of excitement in France and with the U.S. National Team.

His international colleague Pulisic, who continues to shine in Germany for Borussia Dortmund, is another player being tipped to reach the very top of the game.

The same can be said for Manchester City midfielder Foden, who has seen senior game time this season for the reigning Premier League champions after helping England to U-17 World Cup glory in 2017.

He is one of seven Premier League representatives on the 60-man Golden Boy shortlist released by Italian publication Tuttosport .

Liverpool defender Trent Alexander-Arnold and Everton’s Tom Davies are in contention for the prestigious prize, as well as Fulham's Ryan Sessegnon. Manchester United defender Diogo Dalot, Manchester City sensation Brahim Diaz and Tottenham's Juan Foyth.

Among those to miss out, with the list having been trimmed from 80 names, are Real Madrid starlet Martin Odegaard and Manchester United academy graduate Angel Gomes.

Whoever takes the award will join illustrious names such as Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Paul Pogba and Wayne Rooney on the roll of honour, with Rafael van der Vaart the first recipient back in 2003.

2018 Golden Boy nominees in full

Player Club
Carles Alena Barcelona
Trent Alexander-Arnold Liverpool
Kelvin Adou Amian Toulouse
Houssem Aouar Lyon
Musa Barrow Atalanta
Sander Gard Bolin Berge Genk
Justin Bijlow Feyenoord
Abdelkader Brahim Diaz Manchester City
Josip Brekalo Wolfsburg
Patrick Cutrone AC Milan
Dani Olmo Dinamo Zagreb
Tom Davies Everton
Mattijs de Ligt Ajax
Moussa Diaby PSG
Diogo Dalot Manchester United

Player Club
Moussa Djenepo Standard Liege
Ritsu Doan Gronigen
Eder Militao Porto
Odsonne Edouard Celtic
Evander Midtjylland
Phil Foden Manchester City
Juan Foyth Tottenham
Gedson Fernandes Benfica
Nicolas Gonzalez Stuttgart
Achraf Borussia Dortmund
Amadou Haidara Red Bull Salzburg
Kai Havertz Bayer Leverkusen
Jonathan Ikone Lille
Joao Filipe Benfica
Jovane Cabral Sporting Lisbon

Player Club
Dejan Joveljic Red Star Belgrade
Boubacar Kamara Marseille
Yann Karamoh Bordeaux
Moise Kean Juventus
Jules Keita Dijon
Justin Kluivert Roma
Teun Koopmeiners AZ Alkmaar
Alban Lafont Fiorentina
Leo Jaba PAOK
Mikhail Lysov Lokomotiv Moscow
Jean-Victor Makengo Nice
Manu Garcia Toulouse
Mauro Junior PSV
Kylian Mbappe PSG
Weston McKennie Schalke

Player Club
Evan N'Dicka Eintracht Frankfurt
Pietro Pellegri Monaco
Ronael Pierre-Gabriel Monaco
Christian Pulisic Borussia Dortmund
Ruben Vinagre Wolves
Marcelo Saracchi RB Leipzig
Ismaila Sarr Rennes
Ryan Sessegnon Fulham
Antonio Moya Vega Atletico Madrid
Dayot Upamecano RB Leipzig
Federico Valverde Real Madrid
Vinicius Junior Real Madrid
Moussa Wague Barcelona
Timothy Weah PSG
Luca Zidane Real Madrid