News Live Scores

Sydney FC crowned A-League champions after seeing off Glory on penalties

12:32 IST 19/05/2019
Sydney FC
The Sky Blues managed to get the job done at the death

Sydney FC have seen off Perth Glory on penalties after a goalless 120 minutes in the A-League grand final at Optus Stadium. 

In front of 56,371 fans, Joel Chianese nearly opened the scoring inside five minutes with his header glancing just wide of the Sky Blues goal. 

Glory carved out another clear chance in the 17th minute with Andrew Redmayne forcing a Dino Djulbic header over the crossbar. 

After surviving sustained pressure, Sydney FC should have opened the scoring in the 28th minute when Michael Zullo's cross was bundled home by Matthew Spiranovic under pressure from Adam Le Fondre. 

Zullo was however deemed to have been offside with VAR deciding against overturning the decision despite replays suggesting he was marginally onside.

After a controversial but goalless first 45 minutes, Perth looked to make the most of the fortunate call as Diego Castro forced Redmayne into a fine save with a header in the 52nd minute. 

The remaining half an hour of regular time saw few chances created from either side as the grand final was forced into extra time. 

With both teams nullifying one another and fatigue creeping in, extra time saw a further 30 minutes of few chances as penalties were ultimately required to decide the A-League champions. 

Sky Blues keeper Redmayne stepping up as he denied Andy Keogh and Brendon Santalab from the spot as Sydney FC converted all of their penalties to wrap up a fourth A-League championship.