News Live Scores
Mamelodi Sundowns

Sundowns attacker Percy Tau wins big at PSL Awards as Maritzburg United players get recognition

21:22 IST 29/05/2018
Percy Tau, Mamelodi Sundowns & Richard Kissi Boateng, SuperSport United
Tau was a deserved winner on the night as he walked away the PSL Footballer of the Season award among others on Tuesday night

Mamelodi Sundowns' talisman Percy Tau was biggest winner at the 2017/18 PSL Awards ceremony as he walked away with an impressive prize tally on Tuesday evening and most notably left the Sandton Convention Centre with South African football’s most prestigious prize, the Footballer of the Season award.

The 24-year-old who faced stern competition from the likes of Hlompho Kekana and Siphesihle Ndlovu was rewarded for his contribution this season where he scored eleven goals and guided the Brazilians to the eight PSL crown as he was named, both Footballer of the Season, Player’s Player of the season, and shared in the prize money for Top Scorer Award with Polokwane City’s Rodney Ramagalela.

Meanwhile, Tau wasn’t the only Sundowns winner on the night as he earned deserved recognition alongside his head coach Pitso Mosimane who was named PSL coach of the year. Mosimane beat out the likes of Maritzburg United’s Fadlu Davids and Orlando Pirates mentor Milutin Sredojevic. But while Tau and Mosimane were Sundowns’ big winners on the night, the Team of Choice were also rewarded for their stellar season, bagging five awards on the night.

Here is a list of all the night’s winners.


Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns) — R250 000

ABSA Premiership Player’s Player of the Season:

Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns) — R200 000

ABSA Premiership Coach of the Season:

Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns) — R75 000

ABSA Premiership Young Player of the Season:

Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United) — R50 000

ABSA Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season:

Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs) — R50 000

ABSA Premiership Defender of the Season:

Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United) — R50 000

ABSA Premiership Midfielder of the Season:

Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United) — R50 000

ABSA Premiership Goal of the Season:

Siphelele Magubane (L. Golden Arrows) — R50 000


Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United) — R80 000


Amr Gamal (Bidvest Wits) — R200 000

NEDBANK CUP: Player of the Tournament:

Lebohang Maboe (Maritzburg United) — R150 000

NEDBANK CUP: Most Promising Player

Lebohang Maboe (Maritzburg United) — R50 000

MULTICHOICE Diski Challenge Precious Find:

Siboniso Conco (L. Golden Arrows) — R30 000

MULTICHOICE Diski Shield Precious Find:

Itumeleng Shopane (Kaizer Chiefs) — R30 000


Referee of the Season — R50 000

Assistant Referee of the Season — R40 000