News Live Scores

Schweinsteiger, Giovinco and Villa headline MLS All-Star Fan XI versus Real Madrid

15:37 IST 07/07/2017
Bastian Schweinsteiger MLS Chicago Fire Getty 04012017
The Chicago Fire midfielder and Toronto FC and NYCFC attackers are among the big names selected to face the European champions next month

Bastian Schweinsteiger, Sebastian Giovinco and David Villa are three of the big names that will headline the MLS All-Star roster for its match against Real Madrid.

The trio were among the MLS All-Star Fan XI for the game, which takes place in Chicago on August 2.

Schweinsteiger, who joined the Chicago Fire in March, has wasted little time in proving his value to the league. He's been a key figure in the Fire’s resurgence that has seen them go from the worst team in MLS in 2016 to tied for the best record thus far in 2017.

Melia savoring career year for Sporting KC

The former Germany international is currently battling a hip injury and missed the Fire’s last game in Portland, but hopes to return soon.

He's joined on the roster by fellow Fire newcomer Nemanja Nikolic, who leads the league with 16 goals this season.

While 10 of the players were selected via fan voting on the league's website, Giovinco the 2015 league MVP, was selected through a separate measure, having been the highest-scoring MLS player by fans in EA Sports’ FIFA 17. Team-mate and U.S. international Michael Bradley also made the squad.

The 2016 league MVP, David Villa is also on the squad representing New York City FC, as is Brazilian great and Orlando City playmaker Kaka.

League newcomers Atlanta United had two players, Miguel Almiron and Greg Garza, voted onto the team.

In addition to Bradley, Tim Howard, Graham Zusi and DaMarcus Beasley are the U.S. internationals who have received a place in the squad.

Eleven of the remaining 13 spots on the MLS All-Star roster will be made by Fire head coach Veljko Paunovic, while two players will be selected by league commissioner Don Garber. Those selections will be announced in mid-July.

Goalkeeper: Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids)

Defenders: Graham Zusi (Sporting KC), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Greg Garza (Atlanta United)

Midfielders: Bastian Schweinsteiger (Chicago Fire), Kaka (Orlando City SC), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Miguel Amiron (Atlanta United)

Forwards: Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), David Villa (New York City FC), Nemanja Nikolic (Chicago Fire)