News Live Scores

Santalab, Barbarouses win club awards

02:41 IST 19/04/2017
Brendon Santalab Western Sydney Wanderers Kosta Barbarouses Wellington Phoenix A-League
Western Sydney Wanderers and Wellington Phoenix held their end-of-season awards on Tuesday night with forwards claiming each club's major prize

Brendon Santalab and Kosta Barbourses have been named player of the year at Western Sydney Wanderers and Wellington Phoenix's respective awards nights.

Santalab's most prolific A-League season saw him win the Wanderers' A-League Player of the Year award and the club's senior men's Golden Boot, with the 34-year-old striker having notched 14 goals ahead of the finals.

Speaking after being crowned the Wanderers' best player of 2016-17, Santalab said: "I have to hold my emotions in at the moment. This is the biggest achievement in my career. 

"To be coached by the best, to have all the support from home, this is a dream come true. 

"I hope next season I can take it to another level."

Santalab 'continues to deliver' - Nichols

Western Sydney's domestic campaign will continue on Friday night when they visit Brisbane Roar with a spot in the semi-finals on the line.

In Wellington, Barbarouses was named Player of the Year in his first season back at the Phoenix, with the former Melbourne Victory and Roar winger finishing the campaign with five goals and five assists.


The Phoenix's top scorer this season - Roy Krishna - was voted the Players' Player of the Year after scoring 12 goals this term to also claim the club's Golden Boot.

Barbarouses 'always a threat' - Greenacre

Jacob Tratt, who has left Wellington, was named the Phoenix's Under 23 Player of the Year.

At the Wanderers' awards night, Nicolas Martinez was voted the Members' Player of the Year and the Media Player of the Year, while Caitlin Cooper and Keanu Baccus won Western Sydney's best player awards for their W-League and National Youth League sides.