News Live Scores
Cristiano Ronaldo

Portugal squad announced with four recalls but Ronaldo remains absent

14:58 GMT 08/11/2018
Cristiano Ronaldo
Jose Fonte and Andre Gomes are among the players returning for the Selecção das Quinas in November as the Juventus star remains out of the picture

Fernando Santos has recalled four players, but Cristiano Ronaldo will play no part in Portugal's final two UEFA Nations League fixtures later in November.

Juventus talisman Ronaldo has not appeared at international level since the World Cup, with the national coach granting him an extended leave of absence.

Reports suggested he could return to face Italy and Poland, but Santos has honoured the joint decision not to consider the forward until 2019.

"The only thing I think about Ronaldo is that he should win the Ballon d'Or," Santos replied when asked about Portugal's all-time top scorer.

There are recalls for defenders Jose Fonte and Raphael Guerreiro, along with midfield pair Andre Gomes and Joao Mario.

Everton's Gomes returns after being cut from the 23-man squad that lost to Uruguay in the last 16 at Russia 2018, having impressed with his recent displays in the Premier League.

Portugal need either a point or a win against Italy to finish top of Group 3 in Nations League A.

Santos' side beat the Italians 1-0 at home back in September, before picking up a 3-2 away win against Poland the following month and will be favourites to progress as group winners.


Goalkeepers: Beto (Goztepe), Rui Patricio (Wolves), Claudio Ramos (Tondela)

Defenders: Joao Cancelo (Juventus), Ruben Dias (Benfica), Jose Fonte (Lille), Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund), Luis Neto (Zenit), Pepe (Besiktas), Mario Rui (Naples), Cedric Soares (Southampton

Midfielders: William Carvalho (Real Betis), Bruno Fernandes (Sporting), Andre Gomes (Everton), Joao Mario (Inter), Ruben Neves (Wolverhampton), Danilo Pereira (Porto), Pizzi (Benfica), Renato Sanches (Bayern Munich)

Forwards: Bruma (RB Leipzig), Eder (Lokomotiv Moscow), Goncalo Guedes (Valencia), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Andre Silva (Sevilla), Rafa Silva (Benfica)