Orlando Pirates v Maritzburg United starting XI: Nyatama captains the Buccaneers

The Serbian tactician has named the Bucs starting line-up ahead of their clash with the Team of Choice

Orlando Pirates veteran Happy Jele will make his first start for the Soweto giants since September 2017.

The defender has been named in the Bucs starting line-up ahead of their PSL clash with Maritzburg United which is scheduled to take place at the Orlando Stadium on Saturday night.

Jele replaces Mpho Makola as Milutin 'Micho' Sredojevic makes three changes to the team that faced Ajax Cape Town in the Mother City on Wednesday.

Bucs' backline is made up of Mthokozisi Dube, Innocent Maela, Gladwin Shitolo, Jele and Ntsikelelo Nyauza, who has established himself as a key defender for the Soweto giants this season.

Musa Nyatama will captain tonight in the absence of Thabo Matlaba, Abbubaker Mobara as well as Makola, who is out nursing an injury which he sustained during Pirates' 3-0 defeat to Ajax.

The former Mamelodi Sundowns playmaker is joined by Marshall Munetsi in central midfield. Luvuyo Memela, Thabiso Kutumela and Justin Shonga are the three attackers named on the line-up.

Thembinkosi Lorch, who started against Ajax, is relegated to the bench where he is joined by Thamsanqa Gabuza, Siyabonga Mpontshane, Xola Mlambo, Lyle Foster, Bernard Morrison and Phetso Maphanga.

Meanwhile, Maritzburg will play their first competitive game since the departure of Evans Rusike, who joined SuperSport United earlier this week.

New signing William Twala is amongst the substitutes having joined the Team of Choice on a short-term loan deal from Kaizer Chiefs during the recent transfer window.

Pirates starting line-up: Mabokgwane, Dube, Maela, Shitolo, Nyauza, Jele, Munetsi, Nyatama, Shonga, Memela, Kutumela.

Article continues below

Substitutes: Mpontshane, Maphanga, Mlambo, Morrison, Lorch, Gabuza, Foster. 

Maritzburg starting line-up: Ofori, Xulu, Fransman, Onyango, Makaringe, Maboe, Ndlovu, Mekoa, Fillecia, Shandu, Mokate.

Substitutes: Mpandle, Matima, De Reuck, Atouba, Kunene, Ntshangase, Twala.