News Live Scores

NPFL matches on hold as State Federation Cup finals take centre stage

13:50 IST 26/04/2019
Akwa United vs. Enugu Rangers
The final matches of the State Federation Cup billed for this weekend has resulted in changes in dates for the NPFL Matchday 17 and 18 games

The League Management Company (LMC) has shifted the Matchday 17 and 18 fixtures of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) to ensure that the finals of the state Federation Cup are concluded across the country this weekend.

It is the various finalists from the 36 States of the Federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) that will compete at the national level in the competition in which the winner will represent Nigeria in the Caf Confederation Cup.

The league games for Matchday 17 initially fixed for this weekend will now take place on May 5, while Matchday 18 ties will be played on May 8 to ensure that the league organizers still keep the calendar for the season which ought to end in the early weeks of June intact.   

Meanwhile, some top NPFL teams have qualified for the state finals of the Federation Cup after they overcame their semi-final opponents.

Enyimba, Abia Warriors, Delta Force, Sunshine Stars and Nasarawa United are among other top-flight clubs that have qualified for the finals of the Federation Cup in Abia, Delta, Ondo and Nasarawa State, ahead of the grand finale billed for the weekend.  

In Abia, Enyimba will face Abia Warriors in the final after they overcame Nigeria National League side, Abia Comets 3-1 at the Enyimba International Stadium in Aba.

The lower league side scored the first goal through Pascal Eke but Gabriel Orok, Stanley Dimgba and Chinedu Udechukwu changed the outcome of the game with three goals for the People’s Elephant.

Abia Warriors qualified for Sunday’s final after they pipped Abia Comets Feeder team 1-0 at the Umuahia Township Stadium on Thursday.

In Delta State, Warri Wolves and Delta Force will lock horns at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba to decide who emerges as the state champions.

Warri Wolves thrashed J. Atete 4-1 in the semi-final of the competition played on Thursday while Delta Force pipped GUO Asabatex 3-1 in the other semi-final.

In Nasarawa State, Nasarawa United will be confronting Aklosendi FC once again in the final.

The Solid Miners walloped Greater Tomorrow 3-0 in the semi-final while Aklosendi defeated their feeder team in the other last-four fixture.

Enugu Rangers are the defending champions of the Federation Cup. 


Select fixtures of the State Federation Cup finals

Abia: Enyimba- Abia Warriors

Delta: Delta Force-Warri Wolves

Ekiti: JKF FC-Ekiti United

Ebonyi: Cynosure-Ebonyi United

Rivers: Rivers United-PH City

Plateau: Mighty Jets-Plateau United

Kogi: Kogi United-FC Lokoja

Akwa Ibom: ALGON Boys-Cofine FC

Bayelsa: Abaye FC-Bayelsa United Feeders

Oyo: Crown FC-Shooting Stars

Niger: Niger Tornadoes-Niger Tornadoes Feeders

Enugu: Ngwo FC-Enugu Rangers/Lamray FC

Nasarawa: Nasarawa United-Aklosendi

Bauchi: Zabgai FC-Wikki Tourists/Wikki Feeders