News Live Scores

Michael Olunga left out as Sébastien Migné names Harambee Stars squad

07:42 IST 19/05/2018
Michael Olunga.
The team will camp at the Kenya School of Monetary Studies, with the friendlies set to be played at the Kasarani Stadium

Striker Michael Olunga will not be available for Harambee Stars friendly matches against Swaziland and Equatorial Guinea.

The former Gor Mahia striker, who turns out for Spanish side Girona FC, has requested to be left out due to club engagement.

“We had called Olunga but had to replace him when it became evident he would not make it for the two matches,” new Harambee Stars coach Sébastien Migné revealed after naming the squad for the two matches.

Migne, who replaced Paul Put, has also retained Macdonald Mariga in his squad and also named an extra nine reserve players as a precautionary measure.

“We have called up 24 players to camp, both local and foreign-based. However, as a precautionary measure and more so because football is a contact sport, we have named an additional nine reserve players, who will not report to camp but may be called upon to replace any of the 24 in case of injuries or any other unforeseeable situation.”

Kenya will play host to Swaziland and Equatorial Guinea on May 25 and 28.

Full Squad; Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia) and Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars).

Defenders: Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Musa Mohammed (Unnatached), Harun Shakava (Gor Mahia), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia), Bolton Omwenga (Kariobangi Sharks), Michael Kibwage (AFC Leopards), Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia) and Eric Ouma (KF Tirana).

Midfielders: Ismael Gonzalez (CF Fuenlabrada, Spain), Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England), McDonald Mariga (Real Oviedo, Spain), Ayub Timbe (Heilongjiang, China), Humphrey Mieno (Gor Mahia), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), George Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards) and Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards).

Strikers: Masud Juma (Cape Town City, South Africa) and Pistone Mutamba (Wazito FC).

Reserve Players: Ovella Ochieng (Kariobangi Sharks), Marvin Omondi (AFC Leopards), Patillah Omotto (Kariobangi Sharks), Dennis Sikhayi (AFC Leopards), Johnstone Omurwa (Mathare United), Jafari Owiti (AFC Leopards), Robert Arot (Nakuru All Stars), Geoffrey Shiveka (Kariobangi Sharks) and Chrispin Oduor (Mathare United).