Messi, Neymar and Robson-Kanu nominated for FIFA Puskas Award

The world football governing body has unveiled the 10-strong shortlist for the best goal of the past 12 months

FIFA has revealed its 10 nominees for 2016's Puskas Award including goals from Neymar, Hal Robson-Kanu and Lionel Messi.

Barca reveal Messi illness update

The annual award is given to the best goals scored around the world between October 2015 and October 2016.


Saul Niguez's solo wondergoal for Atletico Madrid against Bayern Munich is among the more memorable from the list of worldies, while Wales striker Robson-Kanu's career-defining matchwinner against Belgium in Euro 2016 makes the shortlist too.

Messi's Copa America effort against USA gets him on the illustrious list, while Barcelona team-mate Neymar is included for his incredible lobbed-turn-and-shoot goal against Villarreal last season.

Some of the more unknown nominees include Finland native Simon Skrabb scoring what can only be described as a diving backheel flick volley for his Swedish team. Sounds ridiculous? That's because it is - and in the best possible way.

South Africa's Hlompho Kekana scored from beyond the halfway line in their AFCON qualifier against Cameroon in March, while Marlone's scissor kick for Corinthians earned him one of two nominations for Brazil.

Mario Gaspar's leg-flinging chip against England last year sees him up for contention, while the sole female entrant is Venezuela's Daniuska Rodriguez, who scored the solo goal everyone dreams of scoring (the footage FIFA provides makes it look like it happened in the 1970s, though).

Finally, Moh Faiz Subri scored a free-kick that makes even Roberto Carlos' legendary goal look tame with a swerving, searing strike from distance in the Malaysia Super League.


Anyone can vote for the winner on FIFA's website and the best goal of the year will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards (formerly known as the Ballon d'Or ceremony until France Football separated from the organisation this year) on January 9, 2017 in Zurich.

The full detailed shortlist of nominees is:

Mario Gaspar (ESP) - 13.11.2015, Spain v England, international friendly
Hlompho Kekana (RSA) - 26.03.2016, Cameroon v South Africa, Africa Cup of Nations qualifier
Marlone (BRA) - 21.04.2016, Corinthians v Cobresal, Copa Libertadores
Lionel Messi (ARG) - 21.06.2016, USA v Argentina, Copa America Centenario semi-final
Neymar (BRA) - 08.11.2015, Barcelona v Villarreal, La Liga (Spain)
Saul Niguez (ESP) - 27.04.2016, Atletico Madrid v Bayern Munich, Champions League
Hal Robson-Kanu (WAL) - 01.07.2016, Wales v Belgium, EURO 2016
Daniuska Rodríguez (VEN) - 14.03.2016, Venezuela v Colombia, South American U-17 Women’s Football Championship
Simon Skrabb (FIN) - 31.10.2015, Gefle v Atvidaberg, Allsvenskan league, Sweden
Mohd Faiz Subri (MAS) - 16.02.2016, Penang v Pahang, Malaysia Super League​