Indian Football - Aizawl, Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru colts register Premier cup wins

The Tata Football Academy and Aizawl U16 sides registered massive wins in the widely popular Premier Cup, which also saw Bagan and Shivajians win...

One of India's most competed domestic tournaments at the U16 level, the Premier Cup, saw the completion of some fiercely contested matches which were hosted in Goa nad Mumbai simultaneously, on 1st and 2nd February.   

With an aim to aid development of budding footballers, the tournament provides a platform for athletes to compete against some of the finest in the country in the same age group, while also presenting the perfect environment for scouting precocious talent. This is the second year of the tournament’s hosting, having been inaugurated last year.

The Nike Premier Cup, as it’s called, is held in association with the All India Football Federation's (AIFF) and the tournament will be held in two stages this season - in Mumbai and Goa.

Divided into four groups, the tournament will see matches from one cluster of teams staged in the Konkan state from 30th January to 5th February.  The group matches in Mumbai will be held between 31st January and 6th February.

The matches in the latest rounds saw the renowned U16 team of Tata Football Academy (TFA) from Jamshedpur thump Mumbai's Kenkre FC. Shillong Lajong, the only I-League U16 side to win a match in the last round, were held to stultifying draw this time around against Chandigarh's Youngsters FC. Aizawl FC was supreme against the young Black Panthers of Mohammedan Sporting while Minerva Punjab's youth team too registered a win in Mumbai versus Royal Wahingdoh. 

Meanwhile in Goa's leg of the Cup, DSK Shivajians' academy team defeated Kerala's Red Star as Mohun Bagan's Colts sailed clear of the Delhi-based India Youth Soccer Association. After being held to a draw in the last round, Bengaluru FC's young Blues won against Sudeva FC. 



Article continues below
Sr. No. Date                                           Result
1 01/02/2017 Mohan Bagan FC      1-0        India Youth Soccer Association 
2 02/02/2017 Bengaluru FC             2-1       Sudeva FC 
3 02/02/2017 DSK Shivajians          3-2       Red Star FC 



Sr. No. Date                                   Results
1 01/02/2017 Tata Football Academy     4-1    Kenkre FC
2 01/02/2017 Minerva Punjab FC           1-0    Royal Wahingdoh FC
3 02/02/2017 Youngsters FC                   0-0    Shillong Lajong FC 
4 02/02/2017 Aizawl FC                           5-1    Mohammedan SC