News Live Scores
World Cup

Congo name squad for Ghana showdown in 2018 World Cup qualifiers

13:31 IST 25/08/2017
Thievy Bifouma: Granada & Congo
The list of Red Devils for next month's games against the Black Stars has been unveiled

Osmanlispor striker Thievy Bifouma headlines Congo's team announced for the upcoming double-header against Ghana in 2018 World Cup qualifying.

The former West Bromwich Albion man is one of 24 players listed by coach Sebastien Migne, alongside the likes of Zulte Waregem's Marvin Baudary, Ferebory Dore of French side Angers and England-based Oniangue Prince.

Four players of the side that accounted for rivals Congo DR in the 2018 African Nations Championship qualifiers were rewarded with a place in the latest squad.

They include goalkeepers Mouko Barel and Ndzila Pavelh as well as defender Barenger Itoua and midfielder Bissiki Dimitri Magnokele of AC Leopards.

The Red Devils play as guests to the Black Stars on September 1 before hosting the return encounter in Brazzaville four days later.

Currently bottom of Group E without a point after matchday two, Migne's charges must pick good results in the double-header to revive their hopes of making the global gathering in Russia next year.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Mouko Barel (CS La Mancha), Mafoumbi Christoffer (Free State Stars, South Africa), Ndzila Pavelh (Etoile du Congo)

Defenders: Barenger Itoua (CARA Brazzaville), Vladis-Emmerson Illoy-Ayyet (Olimpik Donetsk, Ukraine), Dikamona Clevid (Bourg-Péronnas, France), Badila Tobias (Nancy, France), Marvin Baudary (Zulte Waregem, Belgium), Fernand Mayembo (Grenoble, France), Bouka Moutou Arnold (Dijon, France)

Midfielders: Oniangue Prince (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England), Pambou Yves Simon (DAC 1904 Dunajska Streda, Slovakia), Jordan Massengo (Union SG, France), Ndinga Delvin (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia), Avounou Durel (Caen, France), Bissiki Dimitri Magnokele (AC Leopards), Ndockyt Merveil (Tirana, Albania)

Strikers: Ferebory Dore (Angers, France), Thievy Bifouma (Osmanlispor, Turkey), Nguessi Ondama Fabrice (Wydad Casablanca, Morocco), Bahamboula Dylan (Dijon, France), Rahavi Kifoueti (Doxa Katokopias, Cypriot), Tsoumou Juvehl (Unattached), Saint Louis Dylan (Saint Etienne, France)