BREAKING: KPL to start with 16 teams

Goal Kenya
SDT has ruled that KPL be started on February 25

2017 Kenyan Premier League to begin with 16 teams, Football Kenya Federation President Nick Mwendwa has confirmed.

The wait is finally over for the local fans as the Kenyan Premier League kick-off date has finally been set to be February 25, by the Sports Dispute Tribunal (SDT).

According to the ruling made on Friday afternoon, the top tier will start with 16 teams, excluding ‘relegated’ Sofapaka and Muhoroni Youth plus the promoted KCB and Vihiga United, as they wait for final ruling on their case.

Article continues below

Nakumatt FC, Zoo Kericho, Nzoia United, Kariobangi Sharks plus 12 others on the top tier will be part of the initial fixtures.

It is a move that has impressed the federation’s President Nick Mwendwa, who believes that it is a perfect way forward.  “Well, no more meetings now, it is set and it is high time we moved forward. We don’t want to continue with the old ways of doing things; as FKF, we are happy.”

Initially the league had been set to start this weekend but was suspended by FKF and postponed by KPL.