FAI announce details of inaugural President's Cup

The first ever President's Cup trophy will see Airtricity Premier Division champions St Patrick's Athletic take on FAI Cup holders Sligo Rovers
The Football Association of Ireland (FAI) have confirmed the details of the inaugural President's Cup competition.

The first ever edition of the trophy will take place on Sunday, 2 March as 2013 Airtricity Premier Division champions St Patrick's Athletic face FAI Ford Cup winners Sligo Rovers. The winner will be determined by a penalty shootout should the scores remain level after 90 minutes, as no extra-time will be played.

Kickoff at Richmond Park is at 16.00 GMT, where President Michael D Higgins will present the trophy to the winners.

Eamon Naughton, Chairman of the National League Executive Committee, expressed his delight at President Higgins' involvement. "President Higgins support for the Airtricity League and Irish soccer is deeply appreciated and the introduction of the President’s Cup will provide us with an exciting game between the league champions and cup winners to start each new season," Naughton said.

Airtricity League Director Fran Gavin also praised the president, who regularly attends domestic matches. "President Higgins is a huge supporter of our game and takes the time out from his busy schedule to go to games and meet players, officials and supporters," Gavin said. "He is really behind this idea and the game will also have a charitable aspect to it."