Velez Sarsfield crowned Argentine champions

Sunday's 2-0 victory over Union handed El Fortin their ninth championship - and their first Inicial since 1995 - with one round of matches left to play
Velez Sarsfield have won the Argentine Primera Division title after securing the Inicial championship on Saturday.

A 2-0 victory over Union, courtesy of a pair of second-half strikes from Facundo Ferreyra, was enough to crown the Buenos Aires giants their ninth domestic triumph and first Apertura - now known as Inicial - in 17 years.

Following Lanus' defeat to River Plate, Velez opened up a five-point lead at the top of the standings, making their rivals' chances of lifting the title mathematically impossible.

They now follow Arsenal de Sarandi and Tigre into the draw for the 2013 Copa Libertadores, which will be made on December 21.

"They said it was a time of transition but we showed from the start that we'd go for the championship," said Velez president Miguel Callelo during the trophy celebrations.

"The title is the result of consistent hard work and a clear commitment to our aims.

"[Coach] Ricardo [Gareca] knows that we want to continue along this winning path and achieve the goals that we are yet to meet."