Zoo Kericho pick first Kenyan Premier League win
Zoo Kericho
Zoo Kericho beat Ulinzi Stars to collect their first group of three points in the season

Zoo Kericho managed to beat Ulinzi Stars 2-1 in a Kenyan Premier League match played on Sunday at Afraha Stadium. 

Geoffrey Gichana and Nicholas Kipkirui scored one goal apiece to hand the Sammy Okoth coached outfit a taste of victory having played seven previous matches without any.

Their only two points had come from their most recent matches after drawing against Nzoia Sugar and Muhoroni Youth in that order.

They therefore knew that Ulinzi Stars was another hard task especially going by the fact that the Soldiers had just suffered a defeat against Kakamega Homeboyz and that they were now out to return to winning ways.  

However, when they set foot to the pitch, Zoo Kericho looked bold and played without fear against the physically fit side.

As usual, Madoya Mike crisscrossed the field with beautiful passes in search of an opening goal; an effort which paid off in the 15th minute through Geoffrey Gichana, who connected a Nicholas Kipkirui cross with a header past keeper James Saruni.

It then took Ulinzi Stars only 10 minutes to equalize courtesy of Muloma Churchil but Zoo Kericho kept their tempo and intention of winning the match.

The dream was realized in the second-half and to be precise; in the 70th minute when Kipkirui made it 2-1 from a free-kick. 

Ulinzi Stars continued pushing hard in search of an equalizer but it was too late as Zoo Kericho decided to defend their lead. The Soldiers will, however, regret a first-half incident where Daniel Waweru missed a penalty after he was fouled inside the box.

Ulinzi Stars : James Saruni, Brian Birgen, Geoffrey Kokoyo, Mohammed Hassan, Oliver Rutto, Boniface Onyango, Churchill Muloma, Samuel Onyango, Cliff Kasuti, Daniel Waweru, Stephen Waruru.

Article continues below

Subs : Finius Odhiambo, Alex Masinde, Rodgers Omondi, Baron Oketch, Oscar Wamalwa, Enosh Ochieng, Michael Otieno.

Zoo Kericho :  9.Misikhu Vincent, 27. Obayi William 6. Ligare Johnston 31. Akiya Stanlus 39, Ouma Dominic, 44. Amulundu Nixon, 5. Madoya Mike, 18 Gichana Geoffrey, 29. Omondi Kelvin, 22. Nicholas Kipkirui, 10. Odhiambo Bernard.

Subs : 1. Koko Samuel, 30.Ongwae Andrew, 13 Sabiri Sindani, 16. Namasakha Danson, 26.Ondati Kepha, 17.Omondi Dennis, 15.Kelvin Odour.

Comments ()