News Live Scores
Asian Cup Qualification

Indian National Football Team: Stephen Constantine announces 24-man squad for Cambodia and Myanmar matches

11:24 AM GMT 18/03/2017
Constantine with Indian team
Constantine's men are all set for a double header, including the AFC Asian Cup 2019 Qualifiers opener away at Myanmar...

The Indian national team's 24-man squad has been announced for the matches against Cambodia and Myanmar to be held in the coming fortnight.

While the international friendly against Cambodia is slated to be held at Phnom Penh on March 22, India hit the road again to face off against Myanmar on March 28 in their AFC Asian Cup 2019 Qualifiers opener.

Four new entrants into the national team setup, Nishu Kumar, Anas Edathodika, Jerry Lalrinzuala and Milan Singh, underline head coach Stephen Constantine's approach to blood in new talent.

Having said that "it was lovely to be back to train in Mumbai," Constantine thanked and heaped praise on the Western India Football Association (WIFA).

FIFPro backs FPAI’s stance on Indian Super League’s draft

“I need to thank the Western India Football Association headed by Mr. Praful Patel and Mr. Aditya Thackeray for their hospitality and help. I admire their passion for the National Team. We didn’t face any obstacle during our training process,” he stated.

He conceded that the tie against Myanmar will be a crunch affair, and one tilted in the hosts' favour. But he also laid down how ready his players were for the two games.

“The character showed by the boys in the Camp has been exemplary. They worked very hard and we are looking forward to getting a result in both the matches. We are ready for the dual challenge.”

I-League 2017 - Team Of The Season so far - Aizawl with maximum representation

The 24-man squad is as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Subrata Paul, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, TP Rehenesh

DEFENDERS: Pritam Kotal, Nishu Kumar, Sandesh Jhingan, Arnab Mondal, Anas Edathodika, Dhanpal Ganesh, Fulganco Cardozo, Narayan Das, Jerry Lanrinzuala

MIDFIELDERS: Jackichand Singh, Udanta Singh, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Milan Singh, Md. Rafique, Rowllin Borges, Halicharan Narzary, CK Vineeth

FORWARDS: Jeje Lelkephlua, Sunil Chhetri, Daniel Lalhimpuia, Robin Singh