GOtv Shield: Sony Sugar machine crush Vihiga United

Sony Sugar v Posta Rangers
Goal Kenya.
The NSL side came into the match hoping to get a consolation after AFC Leopards had cut short their adventure in the semis

Sony Sugar finished third in 2017 GOtv Shield after downing National Super League side Vihiga United 2-1 at Kasarani Stadium on Friday.

The NSL side came into the match hoping to get a consolation after AFC Leopards had cut short their adventure in the semi-finals.

Former AFC Leopards duo of Martin Imbalambala and Charles Okwemba were the experienced heads in the Edward Manoah led side, who have been firing on both cylinders in the league and league cup.

Babu Salim missed the services of midfielder Abdallah Hamisi and defender Samuel Olare, but still managed to field experienced side with the likes of Victor Ademba, George Abege, Benjamin Mosha and others.

The Sugar millers played casually in the first half, on most occasions, giving the ball away in a dangerous position only to be saved by poor finishing and good goalkeeping. Kevin Otieno was called into action to deny the ever dangerous Kevi Sagide in the 17th minute. 

The latter received the ball in the promising position but his shot was well saved by the custodian. But Sagide received the ball with six minutes to the break, and with a perfect control, he composed himself before unleashing a killer shot past stranded Otieno.

However the Babu Salim coached side came back stronger in the second half, pushing for an equalizer from the first whistle of the second half. Former Bandari FC man George Abege was there to level the scores in the 55th minute after finishing a Victor Ademba pass.

It was a motivation for Sony Sugar and the team continued to push for a winner which came later on; Benjamin Mosha received the ball on the left, cut in before unleashing an unstoppable shot past Franklin Mwenda to give his team the winner.

Sony walked home with Sh750, 000, a quarter million more than Vihiga United.

Sony Sugar starting XI: Kevin Otieno, Bernard Omondi, Joseph Omweri, Alfred Onyango, Justin Omari, Kevin Oluoch (Fredrick Onyango), Benjamin Mosha, Victor Ademba, George Abege, David Simiyu (Yema Mwana) Justin Monda (Amos Asembeka).

Article continues below

Unused subs: Kevin Omondi, Dennis Oduor, Tobias Otieno and Marwa Chamberi.

Vihiga United starting XI: Franklin Mwenda, Zablon Khaemba, Johnson Muyesu, Dennis Ombeva, Bernard Ochieng, Martin Imbalalambala, Clyde Senaji (Patrick Okullo), Charles Okwemba, Kevin Sagide (Godfrey Airo), Lukas Waitere and Amos Kigadi.

Unused subs: Barnabas Tiema, Dennis Kavaji, Mophat Liuva, Soita Silicho and Gideon Abucheri.