News Live Scores

Gor Mahia 1-1 Thika United: K’Ogalo escape defeat

3:15 PM GMT 21/05/2017
Gor Mahia fans at Thika Stadium.
Gor Mahia were headed for a shock defeat at the hands of Thika United after Timothy Otieno missed a penalty but Walusimbi saved the situation

Gor Mahia scored late in the match to make it 1-1 against Thika United in a league match played on Sunday at Nyayo Stadium.

Godfrey Walusimbi scored in the 81st minute to equalize for the Green Army after Shami Kibwana had put Thika United in the lead at the stroke of 28th minute.

Gor Mahia could have won the match if Timothy Otieno scored from the spot in the 64th minute but the miss saw the Ze Maria coached outfit walk home with a single point. 

After a tepid first-half show which went against Gor Mahia’s plans, Ze Maria made a triple substitution at the start of second-half; bringing in Godfrey Walusimbi, Anthony Mbugua and Jacques Tuyisenge in places of Jean-Baptiste Mugiraneza, Meddie Kagere and Francis Kahata in a bid to get an equalizer. 

Their introduction brought some life in the team almost immediately with more pressure being piled on Thika United in the first few minutes.

They were still keen on getting at least a point from the match even after the 64th minute penalty miss and substitute Walusimbi eventually did it. He simply made use of a free-kick.

With this result, Gor Mahia are still at the top of the 2017 Kenyan Premier League table with 26 points, two above joint second placed Ulinzi Stars and Posta Rangers

Gor Mahia: Boniface Oluoch, Karim Nzigiyimana, Musa Mohammed, Harun Shakava, Wellington Ochieng’, Ernest Wendo, Francis Kahata, Jean- Baptiste Mugiraneza, Timothy Otieno, Meddie Kagere and George Odhiambo.

Subs: Shaban Odhoji, Joash Onyango, Philemon Otieno, Godfrey Walusimbi, Amos Nondi, Anthony Mbugua and Jacques Tuyisenge.

Thika United: Eliud Emase, Sammy Meja, Christopher Oruchum,  Suleiman Ngotho, Shami Mwinyi , Asaad Musa, Wilson Anekeya, Onwudi Chibueze, Tsuma Said, Dennis Lewa,  Benson Iregi.

Subs: Caleb Wafula, Stephen Oduor, Zack Matasi, Samuel Mwanje, Joel Tata, James Kinyanjui and Eugene Mukangula.