Wazito 1-0 Zoo FC: Hosts back to winning ways against beleaguered visitors
Wazito FC vs Zoo FC.
Wazito FC.
The Kericho-based side is glued at the bottom of the table with just three points from 11 games

Zoo FC suffered their eighth Football Kenya Federation Premier League game by a solitary goal against Wazito FC at Bukhungu Stadium on Monday. 

Erick Otieno's early strike was what the Nairobi-based team needed to secure maximum points. 

The hosts started the match on a high hoping to get a positive result against the bottom-placed team.

The Francis Kimanzi-led charges scored after just five minutes. The goal came from new signing Erick Otieno who capitalised on an inch-perfect pass from Whyvonne Isuza.

In the 17th minute, the Tea Leaves Farmers would have conceded the second owing to poor defending. Musa Masika managed to get the ball in a good area and set Isuza through who narrowly missed the target. 

10 minutes later, it was Ali Abondo's chance to miss a sitter after good work by Masika once again.

Wazito had themselves to blame for not getting more goals in the first 45 minutes.

Even after the break, it was the hosts who had chances of scoring but the likes of Dennis Ng'ang'a and Kevin Kimani failed to capitalise on the opportunities.

Vincent Oburu came closest in the 75th minute but was denied by Vincent Misikhu who pulled a double save to ensure his team did not concede the second. At the end of the 90 minutes, it was Wazito who walked home with maximum points.

It was a much-needed result for Wazito who had collected a point from the last two matches. They first fell by a solitary goal to Tusker FC before drawing 1-1 with Mathare United.

After the win, Wazito remain in sixth-placed on the table with 24 points from 13 games while Zoo are at the bottom with just three points from 11 games.

Wazito FC XI: Levis Opiyo, Rooney Onyango, Dennis Ng'ang'a, Johnstone Omurwa, Maurice Ojwang, Fidel Origa, Kevin Kimani, Musa Masika, Whyvonne Isuza, Erick Otieno, Ali Abondo

Article continues below

Subs: Bixente Lizarazu, David Otieno, Michael Owino, Vincent Oburu, John Ongoro, Brian Musa, Bernard Ochieng, Boniface Omondi, Amos Asembeka

Zoo FC XI: Vincent Misikhu, Pascal Ogweno, Alex Onchwari, Patrick Matini, Dominic Ouma, Geoffrey Gichana, Kepha Ondati, Sammy Ggolola, Mathew Tayo, Collins Odhiambo, Castro Likhanga.

Subs: Brian Lumumba, George Otieno, Dennis Obonyo, Godfrey Ouma, Dennis Ongeri, Ernest Kipkoech, Danson Kiprono